Wed, Sep

De Four names Provisional 29 Player Roster for Olympic qualifiers.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Olympic team head coach Stephan De Four recently invited twenty nine players for a residential training camp which is ongoing ahead of the CONCACAF Preliminary Women’s Olympic Tournament for Tokyo 2020, Caribbean Zone.

The four-nation group phase will take place at the Ato Boldon Stadium from September 30 to October 8th with hosts T&T taking on Aruba in its opening match at the Couva venue from 5pm on September 30th. All matches will be played at the Ato Boldon Stadium. The other competing nations are Dominican Republic, Antigua and Barbuda, St Kitts/Nevis. Only the group winner will advance to the CONCACAF Final championship next year from which two of the eight teams will advance to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. So far, Canada, United States and Mexico are already through to the CONCACAF Finals.

De Four is expected to name his final roster on the weekend. He has already named experienced player Karyn Forbes as the team captain. Forbes, a veteran of the 2015 Women’s World Cup qualifying team, said she was expecting T&T to give a solid account at home but would avoid complacency.

“No doubt I think we have to potential but at the end of the day we don’t want to underestimate any team,” Forbes told TTFA Media.

“I think preparations have been good. It’s a new squad. At any point in life you have to have transition. With some of the new players coming in, we’ll be able to utilise them and have some fresh blood and help them (as experienced players) to grow.

“I think right now a lot is at stake especially where women’s football is concerned. I hope we can use this competition as an opportunity to make a statement and bring back the fun and bring back people out to watch women’s football,” she added.

The former US-based player touched on recently appointed head coach De Four who previously worked with Haiti’s Women’s Programme.

“Every coach is different but Stephan is very serious and we need someone who is serious and I’m elated to work under him.”

Forbes and her teammates were given first-hand tour of the TTFA Home of Football hotel on Sunday and she spoke of her anticipation of being able to utilise the facilities in the future.

“I think the initiative of having the Home of football is very good because it could really help the TTFA and help bring in funds to help the teams in the future. I know everything takes time so we have to be able to let everything take its due time and process. I am hoping as time goes on we will be able to utilise the hotel and gain some income from this hotel.

“It’s really good as having this facility will help us a lot. I have been traveling back and forth between Trinidad and Tobago. It’s really important that we have accommodation. Everything is near in terms of fields and the hotel,” Forbes said.

Forbes will be hoping to spur her side on with an opening win against Aruba next Monday in Couva.

Matches schedule with kick-off times:

Matchday 1: 30 September 2019
Matchday 2: 2 October 2019
Matchday 3: 4 October 2019
Matchday 4: 6 October 2019
Matchday 5: 8 October 2019

(Monday 30 September)
St Kitts & Nevis vs Dominican Republic, 2.30pm
Aruba vs Trinidad & Tobago, 5pm

(Wednesday 2 October)
Dominican Republic vs Aruba, 2.30pm
Trinidad and Tobago vs Antigua and Barbuda, 5pm

(Friday 4 October)
Antigua & Barbuda vs Dominican Republic, 2.30pm
Aruba vs St Kitts & Nevis, 5pm

(Sunday 6 October)
Antigua & Barbuda vs Aruba, 2.30pm
Trinidad & Tobago vs St Kitts & Nevis, 5pm

(Tuesday 8 October)
St Kitts & Nevis vs Antigua & Barbuda, 2.30pm
Trinidad & Tobago vs Dominican Republic, 5pm

Trinidad and Tobago Women’s National Senior Team


Malaika Dedier (St Augustine Secondary), Kimika Forbes (Millionarios FC—Colombia), Tenesha Palmer (Police FC);


Sydney Boisselle (York University—Canada), Khadisha Debesette (Club Sando), Amaya Ellis (University of Illinois—US), Nathifa Hackshaw (St Augustine Secondary), Liana Hinds (Sundsvall DFF—Sweden), Renasha Jones (Tobago Chicas), Janelle McGee (California Storm—US), Aaliyah Pascall (Club Sando), Tori Paul (Olympic High—US), Meyah Romeo (Monroe College—US), Maria-Frances Serrant (St Augustine Secondary);


Agape Alexander (Liu Brooklyn—US), Shanelle Arjoon (West Texas A&M—US), Karyn Forbes (Fjaroabyggo—Iceland), Janine Francois (QPCC), Asha James (Florida International University—US), Jasandra Joseph (Trincity National), Maya Matouk (University of Tampa—US), Nia Walcott (University of Maryland—US);


Faith Alexander (Pride Soan Club—US), Alexcia Ali (Pleasantville Secondary), Afiyah Cornwall (QPCC), Cayla McFarlane (Patdadores—US), Aaliyah Prince (North Texas State—US), Makayla Prince (Club Sando), Laurel Theodore (Roger State University—US).

Olympic Team Staff

Stephan De Four – Head Coach
Andre Salandy – Assistant Coach
Darrel Marcelle – Assistant Coach
Corbin Cooper – Assistant Coach
Desiree Sarjeant – Assistant Coach
Earl Carter – Goalkeeper Coach
Natalie Harper – Equipment Manager
Kern Meloney – Physio
Shenice Gittens – Physio