Sidebar

Tue, Mar
24 New Articles

Typography

T&T foot­ball cap­tain Karyn Forbes says it is im­per­a­tive a prop­er struc­ture is built for women’s foot­ball in the coun­try.

The To­bag­on­ian play­er made the com­ment on the Morn­ing Shot on CNC3 yes­ter­day, two days af­ter the T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (TTFA) sacked head of the women’s pro­gramme Stephan De Four.

Asked to com­ment on the de­ci­sion to fire De Four, Forbes said she re­spect­ed the board’s de­ci­sion but said it is now time to build the women’s game across the na­tion.

“It’s a re­sult-ori­ent­ed sport and a new ad­min­is­tra­tion is on board and they de­serve a fair chance,” she said.

“I think if that’s their ap­proach to­wards it and they feel that’s best, I think you have to take the good with the bad some­times and there are things you don’t have con­trol over.”

While it re­mains un­cer­tain who will be tak­ing over at the helm of the women’s game in T&T, Forbes said the con­stant chop­ping and chang­ing was not help­ing the game grow for women’s play­ers. She al­so said chang­ing the na­ture of con­trac­tu­al agree­ments with coach­es will aid in prepar­ing teams bet­ter.

“I think with a prop­er struc­ture in place it will help. I think now, hav­ing long term con­tracts in place I think it can on­ly help be­cause by hav­ing the long term con­tracts, the coach­es have time in or­der to pre­pare the team so hope­ful­ly that’s the dri­ve that they are hop­ing to go for­ward with. In that way, the teams can get some sort of prepa­ra­tion go­ing for­ward in­to these com­pe­ti­tions rather than a month or two be­fore,” Forbes said.

De­spite all the chal­lenges the women’s game has been go­ing through, Forbes re­mains op­ti­mistic about 2020.

She said, “I think we al­ways have the po­ten­tial, it’s just mak­ing sure that we have a coach in place that able to pre­pare us ahead of time.”

SOURCE: T&T Guardian