Wed, May

T&T U-15 Girls to face US in CONCACAF Opener at Disney.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 15 Girls team will face the United States in its opening match of the CONCACAF Girls’ Under 15 Championship in Orlando, Florida on Tuesday August 9th, 2016. T&T have been grouped with the US, Mexico, Haiti and Dominican Republic.

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced the Member Associations that will participate in 2016 CONCACAF Under-15 Girls’ Championship, as well as the groups and schedule. The second edition of the CONCACAF Girls’ Under-15 Championship will be held in Orlando, Florida from August 9-21, 2016.

Twenty-two (22) nations from across the CONCACAF region, as well as invitee Venezuela from CONMEBOL, have signed on to participate in the tournament, designed to encourage development for youth players from across the Confederation, while promoting competition at the international level for all member associations – including those for which few opportunities have previously existed at this age level.

T&T finished third at the 2014 Under 15 Championship when they defeated Honduras in the third place playoff. The T&T team has been in training for the past few weeks under head coach Marlon Charles.

Scheduled to participate (in alphabetical order by region):

CFU (16): Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Curacao, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Haiti, Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Santa Lucia, St Vincent & Grenadines, Trinidad & Tobago, US Virgin Islands

UNCAF (3): Costa Rica, El Salvador, Nicaragua

North America (3): Canada, Mexico, United States

CONMEBOL (1): Venezuela

Teams will be divided into three groups of five teams and two groups of four teams. All of the group winners, plus the second place teams from the five-team groups, will advance to the quarterfinals.

Canada is the defending champion, after defeating Haiti 4-1 in penalties, in the title match of the 2014 edition, played in the Cayman Islands.