The 2016 Northern Football Association (NFA) season kicks off tomorrow afternoon with a Premier Division game between last year’s Knock Out winners QPCC and another traditionally top north club, St Francois Nationals.

The match will be played on the training ground at the Haseley Crawford Stadium, starting at 4 p.m.

The NFA is under new management. Sports livewire and promoter Anthony Harford is the president and the executive includes Angus Eve and Glenford Waines as Vice-Presidents, while former player Rayshawn Mars is the newly- appointed association Secretary. 

Other members of the new Executive, include Tony Richardson and Jason Spence as assistant secretaries, while Peter Rampersad and Ruthven Charles are management committee members. The entire team was voted in unopposed at the NFA’s recent AGM.

This season will see 15 clubs playing in three competitions, including a single round league championship in the Premier and First Divisions. Other competitions include an FA Trophy and an end-of-season Savannah Fiesta. Total prizes for the season are said to amount to $100,000.

In making the announcement, Mars, the new Secretary, explained that the outgoing administration had not planned the 2016 season, waiting instead for the hosting of the Association’s elections, which had been due several months earlier.


Premier Division:

QPCC, St Francois Nationals, Maple, Belmont FC, RSSR, Cosmos Eagles, New Millenium and Clint Marcelle Academy.

First Division: 

Malvern, Harvard, Morvant Elements, Football Factory, Malta Carib Alcons, St Anns All Stars, Barataria Warriors, Laventille Utd and Cultural Roots.