Fri, Jun


Stephon Jack netted a pair of goals as Cultural Roots United romped to an emphatic 5-0 thumping of St Francois Nationals in the 2017 Northern Football Association FA Trophy final at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Training Field, Mucurapo on Monday night.

Watched by a crowd of close to 300 spectators, both teams failed to trouble the score-sheet during the first half.

However, five minutes after the restart, Jack fired Cultural Roots ahead before Marcus Griffith capitalised on a defensive blunder to double the score in the 77th minute for the Rayshawn Mars-coached team which is based at Dibe Long Circular Road, St James.

Desperate to claw its way back into the contest, the Belmont-based St Francois Nationals, celebrating its 50th anniversary as a club threw players forward in numbers.

But this left lots of space at the back for Cultural Roots to take advantage of which it did through courtesy Jack with his second of the match in the 83rd minute followed by late items from Matthew Waldron in the 87th and Jamal Burke, a minute from full-time.

A week ago at the same venue St Francois Nationals booked its spot in the final after a 4-2 penalty-kicks semifinal win over Belmont FC after a goalless draw while Durant Felician scored a penalty-kick in the 65th, and Jack, the other in the 87th for Cultural Roots to blank last year’s winner and newly crowned Premier Division champions, RSSR 2-0.

Following the final, NFA President, Anthony Harford said the success of the association’s season has everything to do with the clubs buying into the idea that both zone and the clubs must accept and share the responsibilities that go with success, and both parties did exactly that.

Harford was also high in praise for his executive for the commitment they have shown.

The NFA also enjoyed abundant success at youth level, winning the T&T Football Association’s Inter-Zone Under-15 Division competition held in January, and the Elite Under-13’s as well.

The NFA’s Finance Committee came in for high praise as well from Harford for ensuring the association achieved compliance within the T&TFA’s stipulated deadline.


Premier Division:

1. RSSR;
2. Miscellaneous Laventille United;
3. St Francois Nationals;
4. Cultural Roots United.

Championship Division:

1. Cantaro FC;
2. St Ann ‘s All Stars;
3. Patna/River Estate;
4. Paramin Scholars.

VIVA FA Trophy:

1. Cultural Roots United;
2. St Francois Nationals.

Originally published in the Trinidad and Tobago Guardian