Champions Valtrin United sounded an ominous warning to all rivals in this year’s Emerald Apartments & Plaza-sponsored Eastern Football Association when they drubbed Joe Public 6-1 in the league opener at Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya, Tunapuna.

The champs waited until the 18th minute to get their first goal from Brent Antoine who completed his double in the 41st.

Kareem Edwards gave the Eastern Lions some hope when he reduced the lead after 44 minutes.

But Khalid Downes scored in the 52nd minute and Reyal Dedier in the 58th before Nathan Lewis doubled up in the 69th and 79th to complete the rout.

And the Valtrin United men collected the Vernon Bain trophy from the ex-EFA player, administrator and national youth team coach.

EFA president Lennox Watson accompanied Bain to the podium to hand over the trophy along with 25 gold medals to the winners and 25 silver to the losing team.

Earlier, Real Maracas were adjudged winners of the march past with an impressive display with TT Air Guard as runners-up. But the Air Guard queen, Crystal Alexis was named Best Queen on parade.

Valtrin, Joe Public dominate EFA awards.
By: Clydeen McDonald (T&T Guardian).

National Super League qualifiers Valtrin United copped the Senior Team of the Year award when the Emerald Apartments and Plaza sponsored Eastern Football Association held its 2009 end of season awards ceremony at the Garden Sanctuary of the Dr Joao Havelange Centre of Excellence, Macoya on Saturday.

During the 2009 season, Valtrin featuring a number of former Secondary Schools Football League players captured Arthur “Jap” Brown Memorial Premier Division League trophy as well as the FA Trophy.

Valtrin also reached the semifinal of the Knockout Cup, where a 2-0 defeat to eventual winners, Joe Public stopped a chance for a third title. In addition to the team awards, Valtrin striker, Dwight Crichlow the top scorer in the Premier Division was voted as the “Senior Player of the Year”.

In the Youth Competition, Joe Public’s won all eight of the titles at stake to claim the “Youth Team of the Year” accolade while its Undedr-17 player, Marcus Gomez was voted as the top player.

Anil Roberts, Minister of Sports and Youth Affair, who was expected to deliver the feature, and Fifa Vice-President and Minister of Works and Transport, Jack Warner were both unable to attend the function.

In their absence, Chief Executive Officer of Emerald Apartments and Plaza, Darryl Warner, gave a short speech in which he stated his organization was committed to the development of football not only in East Trinidad but nationally.

Lennox Watson president of the EFA praised his association members for the hard work put in over the last year and noted that despsite the many problems faced they were able to complete all their fixtures. Among those present were president of the T&T Football Federation Oliver Camps.

Honour Roll

Youth Competitions:

Under-11 League:
1. Joe Public;
2. Fulham

Under-11 Knockout:
1.Joe Public;
2. Fulham

Under-13 League:
1. Joe Public;
2. Tunapuna Titans

Under-13 FA Trophy:
1. Joe Public;
2. Tunapuna Titans

Under-15 League:
1. Joe Public;
2. Tunapuna Titas

Under-15 FA Trophy:
1. Joe Public

Under-17 League:
1. Joe Public;
2. Tunapuna Titans.

Under-17 FA Trophy:
1. Joe Public;
2. Tunapuna Titans

Youth Player of the Year: Marcus Gomes (Joe Public U-17)

Youth Team of the Year: Joe Public

Senior Division:

League Cup:

1. Maloney Football Academy;
2. Real Maracas

FA Competition:
1. Valtrin United;
2. Joe Public


1. Joe Public;
2. Maloney Football Academy

Arthur “Jap” Browne Memorial League:

First Division:

1. Athletico Sports Institute;
2 Upper Santa Cruz;
3. Malabar Superstars.

Premier Division:

1. Valtrin United;
2. Carib FC;
3. Real Maracas;
4. Joe Public

End of Round One Winners:

First Division: Upper Santa Cruz
Premier Division: Carib FC
Referee of the Year: Oswald Samuel
Player of the Year: Dwight Crichlow (Valtrin United)
Team of the Year: Valtrin United