Thu, Sep
38 New Articles

CFU Club Championship Stats Since 1997

CFU Club Championship Stats with Inshan 'Flex' Mohammed

The CFU Club Championship or CFU Club Champions' Cup (since 1997) is the annual international football competition held amongst association football clubs from the Caribbean Islands for clubs that are members of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU).

The CFU Club Champions’ Cup serves as a qualifying event for the CONCACAF Champions League Tournament.

Year - Winners - Runners-Up

1997, United Petrotrin (TRI) 2 (Peter Prosper 44, Philbert Jones 95) v Seba United (JAM) 1 (Brian Hill 56)

1998, Joe Public (TRI) 1 (Angus Eve 25) v Caledonia AIA (TRI) 0

2000, Joe Public (TRI) (Group A winner) v W Connection (TRI) (Group C winner)
Joe Public FC advance to CONCACAF Champions' Cup 2000

2001, Defence Force (TRI) (Group B winner) v W Connection (TRI) (Group A winner)
Both Defence Force and W Connection advanced to the CONCACAF Champions' Cup 2002.

2002, W Connection (TRI) (Group B winner) v Arnett Gardens (JAM) (Group A winner)
W Connection advance to 2003 CONCACAF Champions' Cup

- GAME 1, San Juan Jabloteh (TRI) 2 (Angus Eve 19, 41) v W Connection (TRI) (Gefferson Goulart 40)
- GAME 2, San Juan Jabloteh (TRI) 1 (Cornell Glen 41) v W Connection (TRI) 2 (Gefferson Goulart 24, Kerwin Jemmot 51)
l (Jabloteh wins 4-2 on penalties after series tie 3-3)

- GAME 1, Harbour View (JAM) 1 (Akeem Priestley 81) v Tivoli Gardens (JAM) 1 (Christopher Nicholas 14)
- GAME 2, Harbour View (JAM) 1 (Craig Stewart 25, Jomo Gordon 90) v Tivoli Gardens (JAM) 1 (Fabian Davis 58)
Harbour View advances to 2005 CONCACAF Champions' Cup quarterfinals.

- GAME 1, Portmore United (JAM) 1 (Anthony Modeste 86) v SV Robinhood (SUR) 2 (Jermaine Brown 49, Amakitie Maasie 71)
- GAME 2, Portmore United (JAM) 4 (Omar Daley 15, Creig Morrison 50, Kemeel Wolfe 58, Steven Morrisey 77) v SV Robinhood (SUR) 0
Portmore United advances to 2006 CONCACAF Champions' Cup quarterfinals.

2006, W Connection (TRI) 1 (Andrei Pacheco 11) v San Juan Jabloteh (TRI) 0

2007, Harbour View (JAM) 2 (Fabian Taylor 21, Kavin Bryan 23) v Joe Public (TRI) 1 (Kerry Baptiste 16)

2009, W Connection (TRI) 2 (Jonathan Faña Frías 7, 21) v Puerto Rico Islanders (PUR) 1 (Martin Nuñez 36)

2010, Puerto Rico Islanders (PUR) (Group winners), Joe Public (TRI) (Group Runners-up)

2011, Puerto Rico Islanders (PUR) 3 (Jay Needham 34, Jonathan Faña Frías 100, 113) v Tempête (HAI) 1 (Junior Charles 43)

2012, Caledonia AIA (TRI) 1 (Radanfah Abu Bakr 97) v W Connection (TRI) 1 (Clyde Leon 103)
l (Caledonia wins 4-3 on penalties)

2013, W Connection (TRI) (Group 1 winner), Valencia FC (HAI) (Group 2 winner) and Caledonia AIA (TRI) (Playoff winner).
- W Connection, Valencia FC and Caledonia AIA qualifies for the 2013–14 CONCACAF Champions League.

2014, Puerto Rico Bayamón FC (PUR) (Group 1 winner), Waterhouse (JAM) (Group 2 winner) and Alpha United (GUY) (Group 3 winner).
- Puerto Rico Bayamón, Waterhouse and Alpha United qualifies for the 2014–15 CONCACAF Champions League.

2015, Central FC (TRI) 2 (Jean-Luc Rochford 27, Jamal Jack 68) v W Connection (TRI) 1 (Neil Benjamin Jr. 90), Ato Boldon Stadium
- Central FC, W Connection and Montego Bay United qualifies for the 2015–16 CONCACAF Champions League.

2016, Central FC (TRI) 3 (Marcus Joseph 5, Jason Marcano 83, Darren Mitchell 90+3) v W Connection (TRI) 0, Stade Sylvio Cator
- Central FC, W Connection and Don Bosco FC qualifies for the 2016–17 CONCACAF Champions League.

2017, San Juan Jabloteh (TRI) 0 v Cibao FC (DOM) 1 (Richard Dabas 31), Hasley Crawford Stadium
- Cibao FC qualifies for the 2018 CONCACAF Champions League. Central FC, San Juan Jabloteh and Portmore United will compete in the inargual CONCACAF League for a place in the 2018 CONCACAF Champions League.




Note: In 2017 the CFU formatted 2 groups (A&B). Both group winners will play each other for the Caribbean crown (Cibao FC - winners) and the automatic Caribbean spot in next season’s newly re-formatted 2018 CONCACAF Champions League which commences in February 2018. The losing finalist team (San Juan Jabloteh) and the second-place teams of Group A (Central FC) and B (Portmore United) will join 13 Central American teams in the newly launched CONCACAF League – set to begin in August 2017 – to battle for a trophy which guarantees the winner a place in the 2018 CONCACAF Champions League where they will join 15 other teams.