Sat, Feb


Five Pro League clubs advance into FA Trophy QF round; Central school SKHY 7-0; Jabloteh, Police and Pro League-bound Sando progress on kicks from the penalty spot; Stars edge Pro League compatriot Caledonia

Defence Force crushed rock into dust on Sunday when the TT Pro League club humiliated home side Black Rock FC 17-1 at the Black Rock Recreation Ground in Tobago in the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) FA Trophy 2015 Third Round (Round of 16) for the biggest win in years, if not in the history of the tournament – the oldest football competition in Trinidad and Tobago dating back to 1927.

While in Trinidad at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Eastern Football Association (EFA) side SKHY FC where schooled 7-0 by current Digicel Pro League leaders Central FC in the first match of a double header at the Couva venue.

Central head coach Zoran Vranes opted to rest his star players such as Willis Plaza, Marvin Oliver, Jamal Jack, Uriah Bentick, Elton John and goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams among others, just as he did in a 7-0 win over Eastern Counties Football Union (ECFU) side Rio Claro in the FA Trophy Round of 32, but the "Couva Sharks" still managed a comprehensive win to cruise into the quarterfinal round, which will be drawn in the upcoming week and contested on Sunday 8 March.

Midfielder Jean-Luc Rochford netted a hat-trick against SKHY, scoring in the 8th, 58th and 61st minutes, with his third a 25-yard free kick that SKHY goalie Tarik Hopkins failed to stop as it entered the roof of the net.

Hopkins was beaten by midfielder Leston Paul in as early as the second minute on an afternoon that included goals by Dwight Quintero in the 49th minute, a converted penalty by Michael Yaw Darko in the 54th minute, and a sizzling Nathaniel Garcia strike in the 85th minute to complete the 7-0 score for the two-time defeated (2012-2013 & 2013-2014) finalists.

But it was less embarrassing than what Tobago Football Association (TFA) side Black Rock had to endure in front of home fans against six-time FA Trophy champions ( 1974, 1981, 1985, 1989, 1991 & 1996) Defence Force, who whipped QPCC FC 7-1 in this season’s preliminary round before ousting their Super League side Defence Force 2-0 in the Round of 32.

Defence Force forward Richard Roy, who scored a hat-trick against QPCC, bagged five goals against Black Rock, netting in the 11th, 22th, 34th, 61st and 88th minutes, while midfielders Josimar Belgrave, netting in the 42th, 43rd and 80th minutes, and Akeem Roach, finding the back of the net in the 57th, 63rd and 80th minutes, grabbed hat-tricks against the Tobagonians.

And not allowing Black Rock time to lick their wounds, Devorn Jorsling (30th minute), Ross Russell Jr. (37th minute), Kellon Serette (60th minute), Marvin Jones (70th minute), Dexter Pacheco (71st minute) and Jelani Felix (86th minute) each picked up a goal for the Marvin Gordon-coached Defence Force before Michael Carrington netted Black Rock’s lone item on the 90th minute.

In other FA Trophy third round results North East Stars, winners in 2003, edged Pro League compatriots and three-time winners (2008, 2011-2012 & 2012-2013) Caledonia AIA 1-0 at the Larry Gomes Stadium with an own goal credited to Nicholas Mercano in the 59th minute, exacting revenge over the Morvant-Laventille club that defeated them by the same score-line last Friday in the Round Two Match Day Nine of the 2014-2015 Digicel Pro League.

While Play Whe San Juan Jabloteh, winners in 1998, 2005 and 2010-2011, Police FC, winners in 1975, 1999 & 1994, and Pro League-bound Club Sando all advanced into the quarterfinal round with kicks from the penalty mark.

Jabloteh defeated Tobago’s Super League outfit Bethel United 5-3 on kicks following a 1-1 draw in Montgomery, Tobago. Vernon Waison had Bethel in front by the 17th minute but Jabloteh’s Shaquille Bertrand tied the scores 1-1 on the 47th minute.

At the Police Training Ground in St. James, Trinidad, home side Police FC, thanks to three saves on kicks from the penalty mark by goalkeeper Adrian Foncette, defeated Super League outfit Guaya United 3-1 following a hard-fought 2-2 draw.

And in the second match of the double header at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Super League champions Club Sando, equipped with former St. Ann’s Rangers coach Anthony Streete and a number of former Pro League players, overcame Point Fortin Civic 5-4 following a keenly contested 4-4 draw.

Civic opened the scoring in the 5th minute with forward Jamille Boatswain finding the back of the net with a neat flick before Sando’s Ryan Frederick equalised in the 24th minute. Weslie John had Civic back in front on the 24th minute but on the 35th minute the defender unfortunately directed a dangerous cross into his own net as the see-saw effect continue towards the break.

And even with a Marcus Joseph double, netting in the 60th and 79th minutes, in the second half, Civic were held to a 4-4 draw at the end of regulation time after goals by Sando’s Teba Mc Knight, in the 75th minute, and Jesse Downing, in the 83rd minute.

The FA Trophy Third Round will culminate on Monday 2 March in Tobago when Super League outfit Stokely Vale hosts defending champions and four-time winners (1999, 2000, 2002 and 2013-2014) DIRECTV W Connection from 6 pm at the Plymouth Recreation Ground and simultaneously at the Cyd Gray Recreation Ground, home side Roxborough Lakers of the TFA will welcome Northern Football Association (NFA) side St. Francois Nationals.

Third Round (Round of 16) Results

Central FC 7 (Leston Paul 2', Jean-Luc Rochford 8', 58', 61', Dwight Quintero 49', Michael Yaw Darko 54', Nathaniel Garcia 85') vs SKHY FC 0

Black Rock FC 1 (Michael Carrington 90') vs Defence Force 17 (Richard Roy 11', 22', 34', 61', 88', Akeem Roach 57', 63', 80', Josimar Belgrave 42', 43' 80', Devorn Jorsling 30', Ross Russell Jr. 37', Kellon Serette 60', Marvin Jones 70', Dexter Pacheco 71', Jelani Felix 86')

North East Stars 1 (own goal 59’) vs Caledonia AIA 0

Bethel United 1 (Vernon Waison 17') vs San Juan Jabloteh 1 (Shaquille Bertrand 47')
(Jabloteh won the match 5-3 on kicks from the penalty mark)

Club Sando 4 (Ryan Frederick 18', Weslie John 35' own goal, Teba Mc knight 75’, Jesse Downing 83’) vs Point Fortin Civic 4 (Jamille Boatswain 5', Weslie John 24', Marcus Joseph 60’, 79’)
Club Sando won the match 5-4 on kicks from the penalty mark

Police 2 vs Guaya United 2
Police FC won the match 3-1 on kicks from the penalty mark

Upcoming Third Round (Round of 16) matches

Monday 2 March 2015

Stokely Vale FC vs W Connection—6 pm, Plymouth Recreation Ground

Roxborough Lakers vs St. Francois Nationals—6 pm, Cyd Gray Recreation Ground