Sidebar

Thu, May

Typography

A media melee was the best way to describe the scene outside Parliament yesterday, as embattled former FIFA frontliner Jack Warner fled from foreign media reporters who were manhandled by some of his companions after Warner refused to speak to the foreign press.

Foreign media personnel had come to T&T from Sky News in the UK, Associated Press (AP), Agence France Presse (AFP) and Al Jazeera to interview Warner on recent international events, including the US Justice Department’s move to indict him—along with other Fifa officials—on charges ranging from alleged bribery, corruption and racketeering to fraud.

Warner is now before the court following the execution of a provisional warrant last week and is also on Interpol’s “Wanted list.”

Yesterday, Warner had gone to the Parliament to participate in debate on a motion by Government concerning variation of 2015 finances. This involved shifting unused sums from certain divisions of Government to other areas to mainly fund payments and other matters up to September 2015.

But Warner, who arrived late for the 10 am parliamentary sitting, was met by reporters outside the Parliament. In that episode, a camerawoman from AFP fell to the ground in her pursuit of Warner. She told the T&T Guardian that Warner’s bodyguard told her that she had “done that to herself.”

Other foreign media personnel—reporters and a producer—later joined local reporters in the parliament chamber, focusing on Warner, who sat through the morning’s debate silently with his head down. A big, burly man, part of his entourage, sat close by in the public gallery.

Local parliament reporters from the T&T Guardian, Express and Newsday sent Warner a note requesting an interview. But he sent back a note with the reply: “Regretfully I put a halt to all media interviews and I do thank you for your understanding.”

During the lunch break, local and foreign reporters then attempted to speak to Warner as he left the Parliament.

David Dowden, of London’s Sky News, asked Warner if he could speak with him. Warner tersely replied that he was in his Parliament and “I wouldn’t do this in your Parliament. Don’t do it in mine!”

Warner was escorted by police as he left the Parliament, and his companions—people who appeared to be his bodyguards—then surrounded him as he left through the parliament’s doors. It was the first time Warner’s companions had acted like bodyguards at the Parliament. When he arrived on previous occasions he had willingly spoken to local media and answered queries freely, mainly commenting on the People’s Partnership.

But yesterday, leaving the Parliament in the presence of the foreign media, Warner—companions closely following—didn’t seem as forthcoming.

As local and foreign media followed Warner away from the Parliament, Dowden attempted to speak to him. However, Warner’s companion, in a white T-shirt, loudly and harshly warned Dowden off, pushing his open palm in reporters’ faces and declaring, “No comments, no comments, no comments!”

Dowden persisted, “Excuse me, Mr Warner, why won’t you explain?...”

Warner’s companion, still blocking Dowden, insisted, “No comments, no comments!”

Dowden protested, “Don’t manhandle me...please.”

Dowden again asked Warner why he wouldn’t speak.

Warner’s companion, pushing him off bodily, bellowed, “No comments! No comments! No comments!”

Dowden asked him, “Will you stop pushing me please?”

The other large man at Warner’s side asked Dowden, “Why you doh go in yuh own country and behave like dat?”

AP cameraman Josh Rapogle took up the questioning as Warner’s group attempted to push Dowden aside.

“What do you have against Sepp Blatter?” Rapogle asked Warner

“No comments! No comments! No comments!” shouted Warner’s companion, pushing Rapogle’s equipment aside.

Rapogle warned, “Don’t touch my camera.”

He again pressed Warner, “What do you have against Sepp Blatter?”

Dowden also asked Warner, “Mr Warner as a Parliamentarian, do you think it’s right for your companions to assault me?”

Warner’s assistants replied to Dowden, “Move! Move! Move!”

“What gives you the right to assault me?” Dowden tried again.

He asked Warner, “Mr Warner why won’t you talk to us...if you’ve got nothing to hide, why won’t you talk to us?”

Reporters followed Warner to his car, still attempting to ask questions after he was seated inside, to no avail.

Warner didn’t immediately return to Parliament after lunch, but turned up later and contributed to debate on the variation motion, criticising Government heavily.

He also spoke about “exposing the Government” in his Sunshine newspaper, in response to which Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said it was offensive to hear him speak about good governance and “condemning corruption,” whereupon she packed up her things and walked out.

No official extradition request yet—Nicholas

American authorities have not yet presented a formal request for former Fifa official Jack Warner’s extradition to the US, Attorney General Garvin Nicholas told reporters yesterday.

He said nothing had occurred to show that T&T would do anything but co-operate with the system in the issue and the courts would decide if Warner should be extradited, adding that it wasn’t for him to decide.

Asked by US reporters about Warner’s claims pertaining to Fifa funding and the T&T elections, Nicholas said Warner had made a lot of accusations over the years that had not been substantiated.

On Warner’s claims of “damaging” information about the Government regarding Section 34, Nicholas said if he had any evidence it should be taken to the police and the Integrity Commission, which was also part of T&T’s investigating structure.

Nicholas said Warner hadn’t presented his office with evidence of his claims and he wasn’t interested in anyone who made threats.

“That’s seeking headlines,” he said.

Nicholas said Warner was receiving the same treatment and procedures as Ish Galbaransingh, Steve Ferguson and others.

“We’re following it to the letter,” he said.

Nicholas also said if Warner had a genuine concern for his life he should go to the police, who would assess his vulnerability and provide security if they felt it necessary.

PP House leader Dr Roodal Moonilal, addressing Warner’s claims, said, “Mr Warner is a desperate man and this is a case of desperation leading to disillusion, I hope he co-operates with authorities and seeks to clear his name.”

Moonilal also said TTFF president Raymond Tim Kee yesterday made a “very irresponsible statement and failed to provide any evidence of any activity he claimed. I can’t remember the last time the UNC had a dinner banquet. I hope it wasn’t a private function and Mr Warner tried to defraud TTFF by claiming it was a UNC matter.”

RELATED NEWS

Kamla to Jack: Stop humiliating T&T
By Richard Charan (Express).

PRIME Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar on Friday appealed to Jack Warner to stop bringing the country into shame, humiliation and disrepute.

Speaking in Parliament at the International Waterfront Port of Spain, where several members of the foreign media were seated, Persad-Bissessar said the country had, over a period of years, been able to establish itself on the world stage.

Now, she said, the entire globe was focused on Trinidad and Tobago “not for anything right and good”.

Persad-Bissessar said she had suffered “great distress…because of the actions of one man”.

Warner, the political leader of the Independent Liberal Party (ILP) and a former FIFA Vice President, has been indicted in the United States on charges of fraud, corruption and racketeering related to his time at FIFA.

On Wednesday, Warner said at a political meet, and in an address to the nation, that he had evidence which linked FIFA's money with funding for the Peoples Partnership general election campaign in 2010.

His claims have been widely reported in the international media.

Persad-Bissessar, who has denied using any of Warner's money to fund the campaign, said on Friday: “we worked so hard to grow that international image. Today, this image is under threat. One citizen has brought us into disrepute, shame and humiliation. We call upon that member from Chaguanas West, that he do all that he can to cooperate with US authorities”.

Warner was asked to give what information he had to US authorities and “end this very sordid period of the nation's history. Let's end the shame and scandal. One man has brought us here…I appeal to his sense of patriotism…and redeem his native land…cooperate and do what's right so we can list one again the image of Trinidad and Tobago”.

On Tuesday Warner was among six former and current FIFA executives placed on INTERPOL's wanted list on charges including corruption, conspiracy and racketeering.

The Red Notices were issued a day after FIFA president Sepp Blatter announced he would be resigning, as the corruption investigation into FIFA deepens.

The six on INTERPOL's list are among nine FIFA officials and five sports media and promotions executives, who have been indicted in the United States on charges related to bribes amounting to $150 million.

Warner is accused of accepting a US $10 million bribe in exchange for helping South Africa secure the right to host the 2010 World Cup. Officials in South Africa have denied that the money was a bribe.

He appeared in court last week, after the US began extradition proceedings seeking to have him brought to the US to face trial. Warner, who is out on $2.5 million bail, has denied wrong-doing and claimed that the charges are part of a US “witch-hunt” meant to punish him for his support of Qatar's 2022 World Cup.

US prosecutors on Thursday unsealed the guilty plea hearing transcripts of Warner's Daryan And Daryll.

According to US media reports, Daryan Warner pleaded guilty to three counts of wire fraud, money laundering, and tax evasion in October 2013, in relation to a ticket reselling scam for the 2006 and 2010 World Cups.

In the documents, Warner made “substantial profits” buying World Cup tickets from FIFA then illegally selling them at marked-up prices through a Florida-based ticket broker who is named as co-conspirator in the case.

The scam also involved two unnamed family members who at the time were FIFA officials, according the court documents.

Daryan Warner profited at least $1,177,843.95 running his ticket scam for the 2006 World Cup.

As part of the plea deal, Daryan Warner agreed to cooperate with the government in its ongoing investigation of FIFA, including going undercover if necessary.

Daryll Warner pleaded guilty in July 2013 to wire fraud, and “structuring,” which refers to attempting to structure financial transactions in a way that wouldn't trigger federal currency reporting requirements.

Federal prosecutors also alleged that Warner, a one-time FIFA development officer focused on the Caribbean, obtained a mortgage loan “on the basis of false information” and then used the loan to finance a property in Miami.

Warner testified that the Miami property was “intended for use by my father, my brother and myself.”

Warner also admitted to deliberately breaking up cash deposits into amounts of less than $10,000 “in order to avoid the filing of the requisite report.”

Warner: Last laugh is mine
T&T Newsday Reports.

BEFORE Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar walked out on him during yesterday’s sitting of the House of Representatives, Independent Liberal Party (ILP) political leader and Chaguanas West MP Jack Warner promised her, the Government and the country, “I will have the last laugh.”

After the Prime Minister walked out of the Parliament during his response to her contribution during debate on a motion to approve the Second Report of the Standing Finance Committee, Warner shrugged his shoulders and remarked, “I sat (in my seat).I did not rise on a point of order. I sat and listened to the Member (of Parliament) for Siparia (Persad-Bissessar) impugn my character in the worst possible way but I said nothing.”

However Warner, a former FIFA vice-president, hinted that outside of Parliament, “I will say something.” In her earlier contribution, Persad-Bissessar accused Warner of single-handedly bringing the country’s international image into disrepute.

In doing so, she urged him to cooperate with United States law enforcement authorities with respect to eight criminal charges the US government has laid against him with respect to, racketeering, conspiracy and corruption during his tenure as a FIFA executive.

Responding to Persad-Bissessar, Warner said he heard her “passionate plea” to him while he was on his way to Parliament. Saying he was “touched” by her concern for him, Warner quipped, “I find it difficult to understand how a similar concern wasn’t expressed when there were others who had 89 charges which emanated in TT and there was no concern.” Persad-Bissessar and Government MPs were silent as Warner continued, “In fact, on the contrary, I was a member of that Cabinet that passed Section 34 in the middle of the night. There was no concern. None.”

Warner said he would have thought that “as a senior counsel, the Prime Minister would have known that a man is innocent until proven guilty.” Reminding MPs that Persad-Bissessar read the charges against him into the Hansard record of Parliament, Warner observed, “The way she has made the kind of judgement that she has made and continues to make, is mind- boggling.”

Referring to Persad-Bissessar’s charge that he had brought “shame and scandal on the country by his actions, Warner countered, “What she has seen so far, if she is correct, is the shame. She has not seen the scandal yet. The scandal is to come.”

Reiterating he will continue to take “all the ridicule and derision and attacks” as he has been doing, Warner told Speaker Wade Mark, “I tell this House, this country and you today, that I will have the last laugh.”

Noting the presence of foreign journalists in the Parliament Chamber, Warner said “it might be good for the international press for the Prime Minister to make a plea to Chaguanas West to cooperate.”

Saying Persad-Bissessar’s statement “makes international news and you know of course we like our PR (public relations),” Warner said, “I want to say, the news must also say that it is this Prime Minister, under this Government that passed Section 34 which was designed to prevent two persons from going to the US.”

Government Chief Whip Dr Roodal Moonilal cited Standing Order 48 (6), claiming Warner was imputing improper motive against Persad-Bissessar and the Government. “It is clear,” Moonilal claimed. Mark advised Warner, “ You are imputing improper motive to Cabinet ministers and the Prime Minister and you are in breach of 48 (6), so I ask you not to go there.”

Warner replied, “Mr Speaker, if you say so, it’s so. I want to make the point that at the end of the day, both in terms of what is taking place here and what took place in this country some three or four years ago.”

Reiterating his confidence that the truth will be revealed “sooner rather than later,” Warner looked at Persad-Bissessar and Government MPs and declared, “There is nobody Mr Speaker who will jumbie me or set my agenda for me, before my time. The only person to set my agenda, is me.”

Insisting that he is following due process, Warner said, “I was charged in my country. I was given a provisional warrant. I went to my country’s court. I gave up myself. I am on bail. I do not understand the issue of cooperation.”

Looking again at his former political colleagues, Warner crossed his wrists. “What do you want me to do? Go in manacles and hands so to the (United) States? That’s what you want me to do?” he asked Government MPs.

Reiterating that in this country, “one is innocent until proven guilty,” Warner told Government MPs, “You can say what you want, that’s maxim.”

Rebutting Persad-Bissessar’s assertion that Government was not practising discrimination against certain segments of the population, Warner said, “When I was minister of works and transport, that (Diego Martin) highway was already started. It started by the (former) PNM government.”

As PNM MPs thumped their desks, Warner declared, “There was no initiative on this Government’s part. They were not kind, they were not generous.” Telling Government “don’t take credit where credit is not due,” Warner said, “The same applies to the Highway to Point Fortin. That was a fait accompli down to the contractor, everything was there.”

Saying “in this society, it is convenient for us to forget,” Warner repeated that at the end of the day, “Chaguanas West will have the last laugh both locally and internationally.”Indicating he would say no more on this issue, Warner dropped a hint to the foreign journalists in the Parliament’s press gallery. “I hope that gets the same amount of airplay as the last speaker (Persad-Bissessar),” he said.

Warner said while there are efforts to take him “from Intercol to Interpol,” what he has seen in the Bill, “has told me we are in serious trouble.”

Claiming that Finance Minister Larry Howai “has not told this country everything” with respect to the true state of the economy, Warner charged, “If this country knows everything, it will trigger a public outcry.”

Reiterating that Government was practising “voodoo mathematics” to make the population believe the economy is growing and it is cutting costs, Warner said the truth was that in the final weeks before the dissolution of Parliament on or before June 17, Government is involved in “election squandermania.” He claimed there was no contract for the 12 vessels recently purchased from Damen Shipyards of the Netherlands for $1.358 billion.

Waxing biblical, Warner said the only Last Supper which the world knows “was Jesus (Christ’s) supper, with 12 disciples and one Judas.” He then alleged, “at the end of the day, what is happening here is the Last Supper.”

Warner mum on seeking United States plea deal.
T&T Newsday Reports.

A day after vowing to unleash an “avalanche” of evidence of FIFA corruption, a steadfast Jack Warner yesterday declared he would continue on the path he has set out for himself but declined to say if he was seeking a plea deal with United States (US) law enforcement agencies.

Newsday caught up with Warner at his Arouca home two hours after the Independent Liberal Party (ILP) political leader and Chaguanas West MP had fulfilled the second of his twice-weekly reports to the Arouca Police Station as part of the conditions set out when he was granted $2.5 million bail last week.

The former FIFA vice-president and Concacaf president is currently on bail after being arrested on a provisional warrant issued by the Office of the United States (US) Attorney General last week, following arrests of several FIFA officials in Zurich, Switzerland.

Warner has been indicted on eight charges of racketeering, wire fraud, and money laundering while his sons, Daryan and Daryll Warner, are cooperating with US authorities as part of separate plea deals. A transcript ordered released by a US federal judge in Brooklyn, New York this past Monday, contained details of Daryan’s guilty plea. However a separate motion by the New York Times to unseal the plea agreement of Daryll was yesterday denied by US District Judge William F Contz II. The transcript of Daryan’s deal shows that in October 2013, he pled guilty to wire fraud conspiracy, money laundering conspiracy and the structuring of financial transactions to evade bank reporting requirements.

At the hearing, Daryan admitted he was among a group which agreed to buy and resell tickets for the 2006 and 2010 World Cups at a “substantial profit.”

As part of Daryan’s plea deal, US prosecutors agreed not to charge him with fraud and money laundering in connection with aiding and abetting an alleged bribe payment by the South African Bid Committee connected to its bid to host the 2010 World Cup.

“That agreement signalled a potential area of testimony by (Daryan) should the larger case against the 14 go to trial, as prosecutors allege that Jack Warner solicited payments worth $10 million from the South African government. He denies wrongdoing,” the New York Times reported.

Having been dropped off in front of his home yesterday afternoon by the driver of a sport utility vehicle (SUV), Warner said hello to Newsday before declaring, “I have no comment to make” on his stated intention to release an “avalanche” of secrets.

When asked if he intended to make a plea deal with the US authorities, Warner replied, “I said all I have to say (Wednesday) night.”

“The media could print what they want, they could splash ‘Wanted’ across their front pages but I’ve already spoken, I’ve already said all I’m going to say on the matter.”

Warner then said goodbye to Newsday and entered his property.

On Wednesday night, while addressing ILP supporters in Marabella, Warner declared he would not stay quiet in the face of corruption allegations.

“I will not stay quiet. At age 72, I will not stay quiet to allow them to deprive me of my freedom...I have compiled a comprehensive and detailed series of documents this high (Warner gestured from his waist to mid-chest). This high. Documents, bills, speeches, emails. I have it here.”

“Not even death will stop the avalanche that is coming,” Warner continued. “The die is cast. There can be no turning back. Let the chips fall where they fall.”

Warner’s “avalanche” statement followed his paid television broadcast in which he announcedhe had documents which “treat with my knowledge and involvement in” the link between FIFA’s funding and himself, of financial transactions at FIFA including but not limited to its President, Sepp Blatter, the link between FIFA’s funding and the United National Congress and the People’s Partnership Government in 2010 general election 2010, as well as documents dealing with “the Section 34 fiasco.”

Warner said he has instructed his lawyers to “engage in the task of making contact with law enforcement authorities both inside as well as outside of Trinidad and Tobago with regards to the statements that I have made.”

As the world waits to find out exactly what secrets Warner plans to spill, and when, he yesterday fulfilled his bail obligations.

At about 11.40 am yesterday, Warner walked into the Arouca Police Station after driving himself there and reported to Cpl Alfred. He then produced a book in which the officer affixed his signature.

During his brief visit to the station, Warner again declared his innocence, stating he would be cleared, and there would be no need for him to report to the station.

Warner was instructed to report to the Arouca Police Station twice a week; on Mondays and Thursdays, as part of his bail granted by Port-of-Spain Chief Magistrate, Marcia Ayers-Caesar.

Newsday understands that after the signature was affixed to the book, Warner was met by other police officers at the station, some of whom he knew by their first names, and wished them a happy Corpus Christi.

The ILP leader is no stranger to the Arouca Police Station, as during his tenure as National Security Minister, he often visited officers there and listened to their many concerns.

After a brief conversation with officers, Warner left the station and promised to return next Monday.

Sources close to Warner said he was in the process of securing documents and other information, which he had promised to make available to the agencies in the US, relating to alleged money laundering and racketeering involving some FIFA officials.

Newsday understands Warner plans to continue his ILP walkabouts and cottage meetings, and will seek the guidance of his attorneys in the coming days.

Senior Counsel Fyard Hosein is the lead attorney fighting Warner’s extradition to the US. Contacted by Newsday yesterday, he said he does not intend to breach his oath as a lawyer by commenting on issues relating to one of his clients.

“I left the Parliament in 1991 and gave up a career in politics for a full-time career at the Bar. I do not comment on issues relating to my clients as I am bound by the principles of confidentiality. Mr Warner is my client,” Hosein said.

Hosein, who also represents businessman Steve Ferguson in his extradition matters, also refused to engage in any discussions relating to partisan politics.

The unfolding developments involving Warner were a hot topic among several of Warner’s neighbours in Arouca yesterday.

Among them were Bob, Jimmy and Martin who all told Newsday the FIFA corruption scandal is “bad for TT’s image.”

Jimmy spoke of the approachable, helpful man he knew Warner to be; ensuring that dirt drains along a portion of First Street were replaced by concrete box drains during Warner’s tenure as Works Minister.

“Governments came and went and nobody did anything about the drains, even though we complained about it. Everything it rained for a sustained period or rained heavily, my yard and the neighbours’ yards used to flood. Mr Warner was instrumental in getting that fixed,” Jimmy said.

Martin lamented, “It’s a sad day for TT football, for TT sports” while Bob said “Based on what he said (Wednesday) night, Jack is not going down alone. He said the gloves are off. Now we wait to see what evidence he has.”

All three men told Newsday they doubted Warner’s latest statement would sway hard-core party supporters. Rather, the “fence-sitters” would be the ones most likely to be swayed by his FIFA and PP allegations when they cast their ballots in the upcoming general election.

Jack’s sons lie
By Darcel Choy
T&T Newsday

Daryll Warner, son of former FIFA vice-president Jack Warner who pleaded guilty in July 2013, lied to get a mortgage loan to purchase a condominium in Miami, Florida for his brother Daryan, his father and himself, according to court records.

Prosecutors in the US District Court, Eastern District, New York, yesterday unsealed the plea hearing transcripts of Daryll and Daryan.

Daryll, like his brother, waived indictment and pleaded guilty to wire fraud, and structuring funds as to evade bank reporting requirements while Daryan pleaded guilty to wire fraud conspiracy, money laundering conspiracy and the structuring of financial transaction to evade bank reporting requirements.

According to Daryll’s court transcript released yesterday, Daryll testified that in late 2005, his family determined that he would be the one to purchase the apartment and seek mortgage financing for the apartment.

Daryll said, “In October 2005, I began the process of obtaining a mortgage loan to be secured for the condo. For that purpose, I applied for a loan with Sunbelt Lending Services. In the effort to qualify for the loan I provided the mortgage lender with inaccurate information regarding the location of my employment and the amount of my monthly income among other things. I did so with the knowledge that the information was false and with the intent to qualify for a loan which I knew I might not qualify if I provided accurate information.”

“In furtherance of closing on the condominium on December 26, 2005. I sent an email from Trinidad and Tobago where I was at the time, to my loan officer who was based in Florida. In the email I sought to delay the closing by a few days because I needed additional time to obtain the fund necessary to close on the condominium. I ultimately closed on the condominium several days later.”

US District Judge William Contz stopped Daryll’s testimony to ask, “You stated sir that you might not qualify had you provided accurate information. Did you think that there was a possibility that you would have qualified had you provided accurate information?” Daryll replied, “No, Your Honour.”

The judge asked, “Did you understand that you would not qualify for the loan if you provided the truth?” Daryll replied, “Yes, Your Honour.”

Told to describe in his own words what he did to commit the crimes charged in count two (structuring funds), Daryll said, “Between July 2011 and December 2011, I engaged in a number of transactions at financial institutions in the Miami, Florida area. During this period I had a general understanding that making a cash deposit of more than US$10,000 into a bank account would trigger a requirement on the part of the bank to issue a report which would include information regarding the source of funds. Based upon this understanding and in connection with some of the transactions I made, during the above six-month period, I took steps intended to avoid this reporting requirement.”

Daryll said in some instances, he “deliberately” broke up deposits into amounts of less than US$10,000 in order to avoid the filing of the requisite report.

“I engaged in such deposits and other transactions intending to avoid the reporting requirements in connection with more than US$100,000 in transactions in the above six month period,” he said.

In Daryan’s transcript, he admitted he was among a group which agreed to buy and resell tickets for the 2006 and 2010 World Cups at a substantial profit. The transcript showed that the court had problems understanding Daryan during his testimony. Contz at one point told Daryan, “Take your time. Take a drink of water. Slowly and loudly. Channel your inner Lord Vader, not your inner Woody Allen, okay? That’s what I say all the time.”

Daryan told the judge, “it’s the price of a West Indies accent.” Contz replied, “I understand. And also the price of a Woody Allen accent of being New Yorkers. Take your time. This is very important. Go ahead.”

Daryan said between 2005 and 2011, within the Southern District of Florida, “I agreed with others to purchase tickets to the 2006 and 2010 FIFA World Cup and resell at a substantial profit. In 2006, I purchased the tickets directly from FIFA and I misled FIFA to believe that my partner in reselling the tickets was not involved in the transaction because I believed that FIFA would not have sold them to me had he been involved.

“In 2010, I purchased tickets from others in order to mislead FIFA to believe that I was not receiving tickets, because I believed that FIFA would no longer sell tickets directly to me. In furtherance of this agreement, I sent and received emails across state and international lines. In between 2005 and 2011, within the Southern District of Florida and elsewhere, I agreed with others to complete wire transfers from the United States to and from a place outside of the United States to further the previously-mentioned fraud to resell tickets to the 2007 and 2010 World Cups.”

Addressing the charge of structuring funds, Daryan said, “in between July 2011 and December 2011, in Queens, New York and other places, I deposited cash into domestic banks in amounts less than US$10,000 to avoid the banks filing the requisite reports for cash deposits in excess of US$10,000 I was aware that the banks was obligated to report currency transactions in excess of US$10,000 and I made the deposits in smaller amounts to evade this requirement. I made the deposits and violated the law as part of a pattern of illegal activity.”

Contz stopped him and asked, “I made the deposits as part of a pattern of illegality. Is that what you said, sir?”

Daryan replied, “Yes, Your Honour.” He continued, “involving more than US$100,000 within the July 2011 to December 2011 period.”

Daryan and Daryll face maximum terms of incarceration of ten years for structuring financial transactions to evade currency reporting requirements. Each individual defendant also faces mandatory restitution, forfeiture and a fine. By the terms of their plea agreements, the corporate defendants face fines of US$500,000 and one year of probation.