Sun, May

Colin Wharfe, TTPFL Chief Executive Officer

Chief Executive Officer of the T&T Premier Football League (TTPFL), Colin Wharfe, on Thursday introduced a team of individuals he believes will be capable of managing the affairs of T&T football, post the FIFA-installed Normalisation Committee.

It comes ideally on the heels of the exits of Selby Browne and Dennis Latiff, two candidates considered to be heavyweights ahead of the T&T Football Association (TTFA) elections set for April 13.

Apart from Wharfe, who will be contesting the position of president, Colonel Keston Charles will be up for the first vice president position while Renee John-Williams, the daughter of former president David John-Williams, who passed away in 2022, will go up for the role of second vice president.

Yesterday, Renee said as someone who has garnered over 15 years in local football, she believes she has something to offer to the local football landscape.

“I also believe in the vision that Mr Wharfe has for T&T football. I think he has a very strong slate with various backgrounds and competencies,” she said.

Huey Cadette, a development specialist with expertise in working with people and communities, strategic planning and change management, team building, leadership, and public speaking, will contest the position of third vice president while Richard Mason, an Attorney at Law who is the Legal Advisor for the TTPFL, is one of five ordinary members.

The others are Riaz Ali, a professional accountant, Colm De Freitas, the Director of City FC which is the junior team for the Queen’s Park football club, former T&T Super League president Lee Davis, and Makan Hislop, a former national player.

Wharfe, considered the overwhelming choice for the position of president, will be anything but sure with Kieron Edwards also being a powerful choice among the options.

On Tuesday, Browne pulled out of the election race saying: “As the leader of my slate, based on our ten-vote support base, I sought to encourage both Denis Latiff and Kieron Edwards to join to have one slate to compete. This would require placing egos aside in the best interest of an assured victory.

“Both confirmed they would compete independently and the members of our slate which included two representatives from Tobago, a retired bank manager and an academy owner, all agreed to stand down. Our ten-vote support block has been advised and shall play the key role in determining who we will endorse and support to make the next Executive of the TTFA.”

Full team

Colin Wharfe - President

Colonel Keston Charles – First vice president

Renee John-Williams – Second vice president

Huey Cadette – Third vice president

Colm De Freitas – Ordinary member

Richard Mason – Ordinary member

Lee Davis – Ordinary member

Riaz Ali – Ordinary member

Makan Hislop – Ordinary member

SOURCE: T&T Guardian