Tue, Jan


Guatemala's Domo Polideportivo will be the venue for the 2012 CONCACAF Futsal Championship, the second straight and third time overall that the country has hosted the event.

The eight-team event will be staged July 2-8 with four teams qualifying for the Futsal World Cup November 2-18 in Thailand.

Six teams will qualify automatically for the CONCACAF finals: host and defending champion Guatemala, the two-time champion United States, four-time World Cup qualifier Cuba, 2008 semifinalist Panama, Mexico and Costa Rica.

The remaining two berths will be decided in a playoff between Canada and El Salvador, with the dates to be announced later, and another from the Caribbean championship set for February 17-23 in Havana, Cuba.

Cuba, Dominican Republic, Guyana, Haiti, St. Kitts & Nevis and Trinidad & Tobago will compete in the round-robin event with the best team (besides Cuba) qualifying for the CONCACAF finals.

The Domo Polideportivo was the site for the 2000 FIFA Futsal World Cup, 2007 Pan American Games qualifying as well as the 2008 CONCACAF Championship.