Sun, Jul


Trinidad and Tobago’s National Futsal team will face Honduras in playoff to secure a place in the CONCACAF Final round of qualification for the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup in Colombia.

The playoff will take place in Costa Rica in May after both teams finished third in their respective qualifying zones. T&T defeated Guadeloupe 5-4 in the Caribbean third place encounter in January.

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) today announced that Costa Rica will host the  CONCACAF Futsal Championship 2016, to be played May 8-15 in San Jose. In confirming the site of the Championship, CONCACAF also announced the official draw, scheduled for March 16.

With qualifiers recently completed in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) and the Central American Football Union (UNCAF), six of the eight participating sides have now been determined, with the final two spots to be decided by two play-in series at the tournament site in the days leading up to the championship.

As host country, Costa Rica is automatically qualified as one of the three representatives of UNCAF. Central America qualifying champion Guatemala and silver medalist Panama have also qualified directly to the Championship.

From North America, Mexico was awarded an automatic spot by virtue of being the highest placed North American team from the 2012 Championship, while the second North American spot will be decided by a play-in contested between Canada and the United States.

From the CFU, regional champion Cuba and runner-up Curacao have qualified, while Trinidad & Tobago — third-place finisher of the CFU Futsal Qualifying-Championship – also secured a trip to Costa Rica, where it will attempt to best UNCAF Futsal Qualifying Championship third-place holder Honduras for a berth in the championship round.

Each pairing of nations in the dual play-in series will dispute two matches against one another — one on the 5th of May and one more the following day on the 6th — with the teams emerging victorious by virtue of aggregate goals rounding out the field for the tournament.

At the official draw in March, the eight qualified Participating Member Associations will be divided in two groups of four. At the championship, the winner and second-place team from each group will qualify to the semifinals of the Championship, and the FIFA Futsal World Cup Colombia 2016.

The winners of the semifinals will advance to the final and the two losing semifinalists will compete in the third-place match. In addition to crowning the Confederation’s champion in this discipline, the CONCACAF Futsal Championship will qualify four teams to the FIFA Futsal World Cup, to be played in Colombia later this year.

Costa Rica is the defending champion of the CONCACAF Futsal Championship, having won the title in Guatemala in July 2012.

CONCACAF Futsal Championship Costa Rica 2016
Date: May 8-15, 2016
Site: Costa Rica
Teams: 8
Caribbean Football Union (2 ½)
Central American Football Union (3 ½)
North America (2)

Number of teams to qualify for the World Cup: 4

Format: Eight (8.) Participating Member Associations are divided into two (2) groups (A, B) of four (4) teams each for the group stage. After the group stage, the winner and second-place team from each group will qualify to the semifinals and the FIFA Futsal World Cup. The winner of each semifinal match advances to the final and the two losing semifinalists will reach the third-place match.