Thu, Jun


Three-time cham­pi­ons and fi­nal­ists in the last three in­stal­ments of the First Cit­i­zens Cup, De­fence Force will re­sume its quest for a fourth straight fi­nals ap­pear­ance when they en­ter­tain Po­lice FC in the fea­ture match of a dou­ble-head­er at Diego Mar­tin Sport­ing Com­plex, Bagatelle Road, Diego Mar­tin from 8 pm on Fri­day night.

A week ago at the same venue, the "Teteron Men" com­pe­ti­tion win­ners in 2002, 2002 and 2016 and beat­en fi­nal­ist the last two years edged de­fend­ing cham­pi­on and fel­low three-time win­ners, and five-time fi­nal­ists Cen­tral FC 1-0 in their com­pe­ti­tion cour­tesy Jameel Coop­er in the Aber­crom­bie group and will be fan­cied to get full points again.

Po­lice FC, mean­while fell to a 1-0 to Ter­minix La Hor­quet­ta FC and will need to start pick­ing up points if they are se­cure a top-two fin­ish in the six-team round-robin group to book a semi­fi­nal spot.

Two hours ear­li­er, AC Port-of-Spain (for­mer­ly North East Stars) and Mor­vant Cale­do­nia AIA, two-time tour­na­ment win­ners (2011 & 2012) and four-time fi­nal­ist will both be out to pick up their win of the com­pe­ti­tion in the Im­mortelle Group.

This af­ter Mor­vant Cale­do­nia went un­der to Cunu­pia FC 1-0 a week ago at the same venue, while AC Port-of-Spain and 1976 FC To­ba­go Phoenix bat­tled to a 1-1 draw on Sat­ur­day last al­so at Diego Mar­tin.

On Sat­ur­day, eighth-time win­ners, W Con­nec­tion, win­ners of the last of their Cup ti­tles in 2017, 3-1 over De­fence Force, will be hop­ing to add to their 3-0 thump­ing of Pt Fortin Civic when the tack­le Ter­minix La Hor­quet­ta Rangers in the sec­ond match of a dou­ble-head­er at Ato Boldon Sta­di­um, Cou­va from 6 pm.

In the open­er at Cou­va, Cen­tral FC will bat­tle Pt Fortin Civic from 4 pm.

And on Sun­day, To­ba­go Phoenix meets Club San­do from 4 pm in the open­ing match at the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um, Mu­cu­rapo fol­lowed by San Juan Jabloteh and Cunu­pia FC.

The tour­na­ment is be­ing con­test­ed via a round-robin for­mat with two groups of six teams each.

At the end of the round-robin phase, the top two teams from each group will ad­vance to the se­mi-fi­nal in­ which the win­ners of that round will earn the right to con­test the $75,000 win­ners' prize, while the run­ners-up with pock­et $25,000.

Mean­while, the league com­pe­ti­tion will of­fi­cial­ly kick-off the league af­ter close to a year of in­ac­tiv­i­ty on De­cem­ber 13, and will even­tu­al­ly be called the 'As­cen­sion Pro League' as mem­ber clubs and the Board of Di­rec­tors of the Pro League, have agreed to have As­cen­sion spon­sor it this year while dis­cus­sions are still on-go­ing with Sports­Max and the T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion to join.

Pro League of­fi­cials are al­so lis­ten­ing to the foot­ball as­so­ci­a­tion to have the Sec­ond Tier com­pe­ti­tion or­gan­ised in time for the of­fi­cial start of the pro league on De­cem­ber 13