Sat, Dec

Roach fires Sam Boucaud to Santa Cruz ‘Big Four’ title.

Akeem Roach fired in a hat-trick to lead Sam Boucaud to an emphatic 8-1 spanking of La Pastora in the ‘Big-Four’ final to bring the curtain down on the 2022 Santa Cruz Touring Team Community Football Tournament at the Brian Lara Recreation Ground in Sam Boucaud, Santa Cruz, on Saturday.

Trevor Charles added a pair of goals for Sam Boucaud who secured the Dale Mc Agency-sponsored $2,500 top prize while Nathaniel Perouse and David Paul also netted together with an own goal. La Pastora which pocketed $1,500 for the second spot got its lone reply from Isaiah Joseph.

In the semifinals at the same venue on Friday, September 23, Sam Boucaud edged Down D River 3-2 led by a brace from Terry Charles and one from Joshua Isaac to cancel out efforts from Jordan Britto, and Kerron Romany.

And in the other semifinal, La Pastora got a hat-trick from Trevon Lester to beat Pipiol 3-1 with Ryan Porter on target for the losers.

And in Saturday’s third-placed encounter Pipiol battled past Down D River 4-3 on penalty kicks after an entertaining 3-3 deadlock.

Earlier in the week, league champions, Sam Boucaud and Down D River were forced to share the Dale Mc Leod Agency-sponsored knockout crown after the match was abandoned with Sam Boucaud ahead 2-1.

In the semifinal, Down D River got a goal from Rene Britto, and an own goal to upstage Pipiol 2-1, with Corie Dhanoolal the scorer for the latter.

In the other semis, Sam Boucaud and Backstreet battled to an entertaining 2-2 draw before Sam Boucaud prevailed 4-2 on penalty kicks.

Sam Boucaud got a goal each from Stephan David, a penalty, and Che Benny during regulation-time while Back Street got items from Karim Pope and Simeon Bailey.

Sam Boucaud had earlier won the $10,000 Monteco Creations league title with 16 points from six matches, three ahead of Pipiol United.

Pipiol collected the Guillen Group of Companies-sponsored $5,000 for the second spot, while La Pastora secured the third spot and got $2,500 which was donated by Massy Motors.

The tournament sponsors included Monteco Creations Ltd, Guillen Realty, Dale Mc Leod Agency, Valley Sports Bar, Joanne David, National Lotteries Control Board (NLCB), Blue Waters, Uncle Beddoe’s Supermarket, Shirley David and Massy Motors.



Sam Boucaud 8 (Akeem Roach 3, Trevor Charles 2, Nathaniel Perouse, David Paul, own goal) vs La Pastora 1 (Isaiah Joseph)

Third placed

Down D River 3 (Jamal Williams, Kerron Romany, Cadeem Jackie) vs Pipiol 3 (Victor De Silva 2, Ryan Porter) - Pipiol won 4-3 on penalty-kicks

Knockout - Final

Sam Boucaud vs Down D River - match was abadoned with Sam Boucaud leading 2-1 - prize shared

Honour Roll - League

Winners: Sam Boucaud - $10,000 sponsored by Monteco Creations and Monteco Cup

Second: Pipiol United - $5,000 sponsored by Guillen Group of Companies

Third: La Pastora - $2,500 sponsored by Massy Motors

Knock Out

Winners: Sam Boucaud - $2,000 sponsored by Massy Motors

Second: Down D River- $1,000 sponsored by Santa Cruz Touring Team

Big Four

Winners: Sam Boucaud - $2,500 sponsored by Dale Mc Leod Agency

Second: La Pastora- $1,500 sponsored by Dale Mc Leod Agency

Third: Pipiol United - $1,000 sponsored by Joanne David

Fourth: Down D River - $500 sponsored by Uncle Beddoe’s Supermarket

Most Goals: Darius Olliviera (Pipiol) - (trophy sponsored by Shirley David)

Most Valuable Player: Stephan David (Sam Boucaud) - (trophy sponsored by Shirley David)