Sidebar

Sun, Apr

Typography
There was a loud cheer at the Trotters Sports Bar on Maraval Road, Port of Spain on Saturday night as the final whistle moved the Trinidad and Tobago football team to within touching distance of a 2006 World Cup qualifying playoff spot.

Hundreds of fists jabbed the air, glowing faces congratulated each other and backs were slapped with gusto.

"This is great," said Shabaka. "I going straight KFC for my ticket (for Wedn-esday's qualifier against Mexico)."

Trotters was a temple of the faithful on Saturday. No one actually heard the final whistle as, for better or worse, the in-house DJ drowned out the match commentary provided by Ruskin Mark, Alvin Corneal and Collin Murray.

Instead, a cut-away by television cameras to prancing Trinidad and Tobago fans in Panama's Rommel Fernandez Stadium hinted that the contest was over and Trotters responded with glee.

T&T football fans were also expected to believe that striker Stern John scored the game's only goal-just after the hour mark-although, due to a disruption in the satellite feed, no one saw it.

John, who has been heckled by his country's fans in recent times, would have been be reassured to know that Trotters did not find the notion of a decisive away goal by the striker to be at all far-fetched. And Mark was spared the abuse that might ordinarily have been directed his way-on behalf of the television station, of course-if the national team, spiritually disconnected from thousands of their supporters, had lost.

On Saturday, no news was good news.

"I am sorry I missed the goal," said Kahfra.

The huge smile planted between his ears suggested otherwise. He would live.

Not since 1989 has Trinidad and Tobago come this close to a World Cup spot. But to say that the class of 2005 is intriguing fans in the same way as the "Strike Squad", on Saturday's evidence at two Port of Spain venues, would be an exaggeration.

There were approximately 425 patrons at Trotters on Saturday, which is nearly 200 shy of their capacity. It was 125 more than their usual crowd for the night but did not even match the highest attendance of T&T's World Cup campaign-just over 500 persons turned up to watch them play in Costa Rica last month.

"We had geared for a bigger crowd than that last night," said manager Cleon Green. "Maybe people were not as interested because they are playing for fourth spot (and the playoffs) whereas, against Costa Rica, they were trying to get third place and avoid the playoffs."

So, T&T, who have never qualified for a senior FIFA tournament, insist on doing it with a certain level of pizzazz-if at all. Who said beggars cannot be choosers?

At Smokey and Bunty Sports Bar, ten minutes away by car, the event was unmistakably low keyed.

The St James pub cannot compete with Trotters in terms of floor space and capacity. But it seemed a weak explanation for their attendance at kick-off. There were 14 patrons inside Smokey when play began.

The proprietor was not available for comment although night shift manager, Joanne, insisted that football did actually improve their coffers.

Asif, a visiting Londoner, was bemused by the turnout.

"I was surprised that people did not even know Trinidad was playing," he said. "It is all very quiet."

At another table, Roger was explaining the importance of Saturday's fixture to two lady friends.

"We going to win tonight," said the 43-year-old patron, "and, once we win, the qualifying game is in Trinidad on Wednesday. You all not following the thing or what?"

Only Roger was not paying much attention to the match himself. Smokey's lone television was situated behind his back and he could not be bothered to adjust his frame although he did swivel his neck to offer intermittent bursts of support.

"Allyuh score a goal fast nah man!" he shouted at the screen, just 15 minutes into the qualifier.

Ten minutes later, Roger and his friends were heading towards the door.

"I going and get something and come back," he told the Trinidad Express.

By half time, Roger had not returned and there was no rush to claim his seat either.

Not everyone at Smokey was as nonplussed about the qualifier.

Gail, a curvaceous woman who looked to be in her late 20's or early 30's, was keeping her table abreast of the complexities of T&T's qualifying campaign.

"We will win this game," she said. "But it is the other one I am not sure about. We tend to get nervous (for the big games) because although they know they can do it, they get too crowded in their minds."

T&T were leading one-nil when the Express got to Trotters; or at least that is what everyone was told. The ground floor was packed with patrons staring intently at Mark and company on 28 of the pub's 32 screens-the other

four monitors showed the other Concacaf qualifiers.

No one could hear what Mark was saying to his panel over the music while there was no chance of glimpsing the field over his shoulder.

Yet, the excitement of the score kept patrons transfixed; eyes glued to the screen as they savoured every silent word.

The feed returned for the closing minutes and there was some late goalmouth action. But fans generally had to make the most of the results that, thankfully, were positive.

Guatemala, T&T's rivals for fourth place, lost 5-2 away to Mexico on Saturday.

"We came here hoping for a loss to Guatemala and a win for Trinidad," said Blair, "and we got exactly what we wanted."

Alejandra was also satisfied.

"I thought Trinidad and Tobago played beautiful football," she said, despite missing much of the match.

Green said business was booming but admitted that John and company had not quite captivated the viewing public.

Almost certainly, Smokey has also seen better days.

Another good result against Mexico on Wednesday would liven up the party. Some champagne football would not go amiss.