Fri, Sep


Arnold DwarikaTrinidad and Tobago head coach Francisco Maturana has recalled United States-based striker Scott Sealy and Joe Public midfielder Arnold Dwarika to the National Senior Team for the upcoming Stage Two of the Digicel Caribbean Championships which starts here on Wednesday.

Sealy, 27, is scheduled to return to Trinidad today (Friday) and will join the team for its first training session on Saturday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Currently attached to San Jose Earthquakes where he finished the MLS season with five goals in twenty seven appearances. He played thirteen matches for Kansas City Wizards and another fourteen with San Jose.

Sealy told the Press in San Jose that he was considering options of a move to Europe for 2009.

"The club has done everything possible to keep me here, and I'll keep that in the back of my mind," said Sealy, as his son Dante stood by him. "But I've got a family to support, and in Europe there are a lot of opportunities where I think they are going to offer me a lot of money. I'm going to weigh my options, and then I'll make a sensible decision that's right for me and my family.

"I think every player, they want to experience more," he said. "That's nothing against (MLS). I think the league has grown a lot since I've been in the league for the past four years. It's grown a lot, and I think it's more competitive than it's ever been. I want to go there and try it out, and see if the situation is right. If it's not right, I'll be back here." If he leaves then wants to return, the Quakes own his rights.

The 35-year-old Dwarika is recorded as having twenty-seven goals in sixty nine appearances for T&T. Still a member of Joe Public, he won a T&T Pro League medal in 2006 with the “Eastern Lions” and also played overseas with Scottish club East Fife and Beijing Guoan of China

Meantime, Miami FC defender Avery John has been drafted back into the squad as a replacement for Daneil Cyrus while Keyeno Thomas has also been added having recovered from a calf injury. Coventry City midfielder Chris Birchall is out of the squad, being excused as he explores the possibility of going on loan to another club in England.

Assistant coach Anton Corneal commented on the selection of the squad.

“It’s a well balanced squad which we have selected based on information coming our way and with us taking a look at these players in the local Pro League. This is also an opportunity for players who have been in an out of the national program to once again make an impression while wearing national colours and press for future selection. We don’t have the luxury of taking any Caribbean team for granted and it is important for us to win this Group and move on to the Finals, “Corneal told TTFF Media on Friday.

T&T takes on Antigua/Barbuda from 7pm on Wednesday in the second game of a double header in Group H action at the Marvin Lee Stadium. Guyana faces St Kitts/Nevis in the earlier game from 5pm. From this round robin phase, the top two teams will advance to the Grand Finals of the Digicel Caribbean Championship in Jamaica from December 3-14.

Once through to the finals of the Digicel Championship, T&T will fall into a Group with hosts Jamaica, Grenada, Cuba and Barbados

The 2008 champions will earn a first prize of US$120,000. The runners-up pocket US$70,000 while US$50 000 goes to the third place team and US$30,000 for fourth position.  The top four countries will also advance to next year’s Concacaf Gold Cup in the United States.

T&T Squad:


Marvin Phillip (W Connection), Glenroy Samuel (United Petrotrin).


Sean Power (Joe Public), Cyd Gray (San Juan Jabloteh), Makan Hislop (United Petrotrin), Julius James (Toronto FC), Karlon Murray (San Juan Jabloteh), Lyndon Diaz (United Petrotrin), Aklie Edwards (Defence Force), Avery John (Miami FC), Keyeno Thomas (Joe public).


Khaleem Hyland (SV Zulte Waregem), Aurtis Whitley (W Connection), Clyde Leon (W Connection), Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Keon Daniel (United Petrotrin), Arnold Dwarika (Joe Public), Lester Peltier (San Juan Jabloteh).


Scott Sealy (San Jose Earthquakes), Cornell Glen (San Juan Jabloteh), Andre Toussaint (W Connection), Devon Jorsling (Defence Force), Jamal Gay (Joe Public).