Sidebar

Thu, Mar

Typography

1. You have been around T&T footballers for a while now, what interest you in the first place, why T&T.

MB: Back in 1999 I met Clayton Ince at a Charity game and thought he was outstanding......Signed him up........Got him a contract at Crewe and asked him if there were any other good players in T&T and his response excited me and I made my first visit  .....After asking him "Where is T&T" !!!

2. Are you still T&T Football Federation’s Consultant for International Affairs.
MB:  No. My appointment as TTFF/Consultant UK/Europe was for the 2006 World Cup only and terminated at the end of last month........A great honour, experience and a journey I will never forget.

3. Can you updates us on all T&T players who you are an agent for. Like latest moves or interest.

MB 1.  CARLOS. 2 years left on his Luton Town contract. 2/3 clubs have enquired, 1 a EPL club who are very keen......We shall see!!!....Watch this space. A magnificent WC performance by this trmendous player.

MB 2. SANCHO. 1 year left at Gillingham. 2/3 clubs have enquired again we shall see.

MB 3. JASON. 1 year left at St. Johnstone.. Should definitely be playing at higher level. Very surprised he was not used in WC !!!

MB 4. LAWRENCE. 1 year left at Wrexham. 32 next month. Should he stay on an extended deal at Wrexham where he is Club and Team Captain or should he move?. That is the question we are currently pondering. A sensational WC by the way.

MB 5. JOSH. Currently on trial at Wrexham. Looking good for a contract. One for Wim to keep a close eye on for inclusion. With the rest of the players it is a case of watch this space. But as we get closer to the season start I do expext some action !!

MB: In my early days it was very difficult to market T&T players in UK as managers and coaches were very dubious and would not take a chance in spite of Yorke, Shaka, Latapy etc. But slowly but surely our players started to impress and since the WC it is a lot easier and people now give us more respect and interest.

4. What was you best moment in T&T football.
MB: There have been many. The first Carlos Edwards goal I saw which was a stunner against San Juan Jabloteh, T&T 1 v Mexico 0, T&T 2 v Mexico 1. Dennis Lawrence (Tallest's) goal against Panama !!!!!.....Unbelievable.......But my No.1 has to be T&T 1 v Bahrain 0 and being with 400 Trinis fenced in a barbed wired pen and enjoying the night of our lives.

5. Seeing that you are an English man by birth. When T&T played England in the 2006 world cup who were you cheering for.
MB: Just look at the "Minister of Tourism" picture I sent you......100% T&T...... But I must admit I did sing both National anthems at the top of my voice during the WC. I was so proud of the boys and to silence the magnificent English fans for long periods was incredible.

6. Have you ever visited the Soca Warriors Online and if so, what are your thoughts.
MB: SW.NET is one of the best Forums I log on to and I find it very useful for updates on games I cannot attend for score flashes etc.. The enthusiasm for the game is great and I do enjoy the Trini humour and banter.

7. How was the experience, the ups and downs at the 2006 world cup.
MB: The WC experience was sensational. The Ups were numerous. Pride and Excitement against Sweden. Outstanding 83 minutes against England. The Colour and Passion of the Trini Fans who impressed everyone. Fans from 32 nations liming and exchanging good friendly banter with not a hint of hooliganism. The Downs not many.. Not Killing the game off in the last 20 minutess against England like we did against Mexico and Bahrain which  in my opinion, would have given us the point we deserved. Paraguay left me deflated and I thought we were far too cautious in a must win game. Last performance of a T&T Genius at International level I will always remember his stunning goal against Mexico at HC. Russell Latapy.

8. Who is your favorite T&T player.
MB: Difficult question. Arnold Dwarika, Carlos Edwards, Josimar Belgrave, Don Morris, Ralston James (God Bless Him), Hector Sam, Andre Toussaint, Ross Russell are all players who have excited me and are entertainers that get the crowds going.

9. Apart from Josh Johnson, are you eyeing any other local T&T players who you think you can help gain a contract abroad.
MB: Mathew Bartholemew, Gorian Highley, Josimar Belgrave, Radanfah Abu Bakr, Kevon Carter, Andre Toussaint, Marvin Phillips and many others are all young talented stars of the future and I continue to keep a close eye on all PFL games for more suitable candidates.

10. Do you only have links in England ? what about countries such as Spain, France, Portugal and Italy to name a few.
MB: My main market is UK/Scotland but football is totally global now and I have done business in Iceland, Lebanon, USA, Belgium, Sweden and various other places. It is an ever expanding situation.

11. How often do you visit T&T.
MB: About 5/6 times a year to watch the PFL games and also the SOCA WARRIORS games.

12. Do you think our new coach Rijsbergen can keep the momentum going, in other words do you think he has the capabilities to be successful as Leo Beenhakker was and get us to the next world cup should Beenhakker not come back.
MB: Without doubt. I have worked very closely with Leo and Wim since their appointment and Wim was definitely the unsung hero. His contribution was immense and his coaching skills and attention to detail was exemplary. He played in 2 WC Finals in 1974/1978 alongside legends like Cruyff, Neeskens etc for Holland and he is a football man through and through who is known and respected throughout the world. His appointment guarantees continuity in strategy and tactics and I am sure he will take us to Africa in 2010.

13. Do you think its better for our national team and Pro League that our players go aboard and play in the lower divisions in the UK than stay right at home and play in our Pro League.
MB: A very good question. The PFL standard is getting better each season and players like Aurtis Whitley, Cyd Gray, Atiba Charles and Anthony Wolfe have shown the local players that you do not have to go away to get to the top. But there is no doubt that the lower leagues in UK/Scotland are a far higher standard in pace, tackling and stamina than in T&T. But I have seen the gap closing year after year.
One thing that bugs me about the PFL though. The teams MUST be named after their village/town to establish a community identity particularly with the youths e.g.. Morvant United instead of Caledonia. This is how it works in the UK and elsewhere and, in my opinion, is one reason why the crowds do not give allegiance to the PFL at present.

14. Anything else you'd like to add ?
MB: Finally" Where is T&T" which I asked Clayton in 1999 is not a question you will hear to often these days !!!!.

Thank You...
Mike Berry.

Note:
On behalf of the Soca Warriors Online I just what to say Thank You to Mr. Mike Berry for taking the time to do this interview for us. Please keep up the great work you are doing and we all wish you all the best for the future, thank you for helping our players.

21-Jul-2006.