Sidebar

Sat, Apr

Typography
A 20-man Trinidad and Tobago squad will depart for Tobago at 10am on Saturday for a four-day camp ahead of Wednesday’s 2006 World Cup qualifier against the United States at the Queen’s Park Oval.

Coach Bertille St Clair finalized his team for the encounter on Sunday and is hopeful that all will be ready for Ash Wednesday.

Included in the team is Birmingham City striker Dwight Yorke who was expected here on Friday from London while Southampton striker Kenwyne Jones, Glasgow Rangers defender Marvin Andrews, Crewe Alexandra goalie Clayton Ince and Wrexham’s Carlos Edwards are expected to arrive over the next 48 hours.

T&T will have a final warm-up against Haiti at Shaw Park on Sunday.

“It’s the final countdown to the game on Wednesday and we obviously will have to make the most of it because some of these guys are coming from the UK and it is important that they adjust to the conditions here and can settle in with the rest of the guys,” St Clair told TTFF Media.

Captain Angus Eve is also looking forward to the next couple of days.

“We are going to be in the sister-isle when all the bacchanal is taking place back home. Some people say well Tobago has its Carnival too but we all know it’s a whole different scenario and this will allow us the chance to really focus on the game over the next few days. As a team we are anticipating what’s to come and I think we will be set for the Americans,” Eve said.

The team will stay at the Grafton Hotel.

T&T Squad:
Shaka Hislop, Clayton Ince, Marvin Andrews, Keyeno Thomas, Kenwyne Jones, Brent Sancho, David Charles, Anton Pierre, Derek King, Marlon Rojas, Anthony Rougier, Leslie Fitzpatrick, Angus Eve, Denzil Theobald, Cornell Glen, Carlos Edwards, Dwight Yorke, Stern John, Scott Sealy, Nigel Pierre.