Thu, Jan

NORTH INTERCOL QUEEN’S Members of Holy Name Convent, Port-of-Spain, celebrate the 2022 Tiger Tanks North Zone Girls Intercol title after they defeated St Joseph’s Convent, Port-of-Spain, 3-1 at the St Mary’s Grounds, St Clair, Port-of-Spain on Wednesday November 30th 2022. PHOTO: Ronald Daniel

Holy Name Convent, Port-of-Spain, completed the double in the Tiger Tanks Secondary School Girls Football League’s North Zone when they whipped long-time rival St Joseph’s Convent, Port-of-Spain, 3-1 in the Coca-Cola zonal Intercol final at St Mary’s College Ground, Serpentine Road, St Clair on Wednesday.

Team captain Jessica Harrigin scored the team’s first two goals to close the first half with a 2-0 advantage. In the second half, Emily Vincent reduced St Joseph’s deficit before substitute Emily Nanton restored the lead to secure victory.

Last Thursday, in the semifinals, Holy Name Convent edged Tranquillity Government Secondary 2-1 at St Joseph’s Convent Ground, Federation Park, St Clair, while St Joseph Convent hammered Bishop’s Anstey High School 7-3 at Diego Martin Central Secondary Ground.

Today, San Juan North Secondary and Five Rivers Secondary will meet in the East Zone Intercol final at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar, on Thursday from 3.30 pm after contrasting semifinal wins yesterday.

In the semifinals on Tuesday, Five Rivers, led by two goals from Luann Craig, and one each from Trishell Charles and Janella Walcott, strolled to a 4-0 triumph over St Augustine Secondary, while at Trincity, San Juan North Secondary edged past host Bishop Anstey East High, 2-1.

And in the other final card for today, the Central Zone decider, Miracle Ministries, 14-0 victors over Chaguanas North Secondary in their semifinal, comes against Holy Faith Convent (Couva), who trashed Carapichaima East Secondary 10-0 in their final-four encounter at St Mary’s College Ground, Serpentine Road, St Clair, from 3 pm.

The South Zone final was decided without a ball being kicked with Pleasantville Secondary being awarded a default over Fyzabad Secondary, who opted to forfeit the decider due to school commitments.

The semifinals were also decided without a ball being kicked with Pleasantville and Fyzabad being handed wins against Moruga Secondary, and Fyzabad Anglican, respectively, by default.

SOURCE: T&T Guardian