Thu, Sep

St Mary's College attacker Josiah Connell, left, holds off the strong challenge Mucurapo West Secondary's Reece Baptiste during the Secondary School Football League Championship match at St Mary's College Ground, Serpentine Road, St Clair in Port-of-Spain on Tuesday. St Mary's College won 4-1. (Photo by Daniel Prentice)

Four different players were on target as St Mary’s College whipped Mucurapo West Secondary 4-1 to claim the Tiger Tanks Secondary Schools Football League Boys’ Championship Division North Zone title at St Mary’s College Ground, Serpentine Road, St Clair, on Tuesday.

For the “Saints”, who became the second team after recently-crowned South Zone champion Siparia West Secondary to qualify for the Championship Division “Big Five”, the qualifier to the Premier Division, the quartet of Raul Aguillera-Nunes, Jamal Thomas, Josiah Connell, and Kyle Phillip were all on target while Jamani Andrews got the lone reply for Mucurapo West.

With the win, the “Saints” pushed their points tally to an unassailable 22 points from eight matches, eight clear of second-placed Trinity College of Moka, with two matches left to play for each team.

In the other matches in the North on Tuesday, Trinity College Moka edged Blanchisseuse Secondary 1-0 while Diego Martin Central Secondary got their first win of the season, 3-2 over Tranquillity Secondary.

In the East Zone, El Dorado East Secondary edged Five Rivers Secondary 2-1 to improve to 14 points from seven matches on the six-team table, and within five points of leaders, Arima North Secondary who were idle after their match against Holy Cross College was not played, while Manzanilla Secondary trashed Valencia Secondary, 6-2.

Over in Tobago, Scarborough Secondary jumped to the top of the seven-team standings with 12 points from five matches thanks to a hard-fought 2-1 triumph over Pentecostal Light & Life, while Bishops High School slipped to third, a point behind after being held to a 1-1 draw by former powerhouse Signal Hill Secondary, who sits fourth with nine points, but from a match more.

At the end of the zonal Championship Division, the champions will contest a “Big-Five” round-robin series at the end of which the top three teams will be promoted to the 2023 SSFL Premier Division, to replace the three demoted teams.