Sat, Jul


MARLON WHITEHALL scored the only goal of the match as St Augustine Secondary Comprehensive took the RBTT East Inter-Col title at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar, yesterday.

The “Green Machine” beat San Juan Secondary Comprehensive to secure its third crown of the season. The team had already won the “Big Five” and the Secondary School Football League East Zone.

The Michael Grayson-coached St Augustine was without the services of two of its key players, strikers Shane Calderon and Devon Maxwell, who had national duties.

Both Calderon and Maxwell netted a double each in St Augustine’s 6-2 win over El Dorado Senior Comprehensive to reach the final on Tuesday.

In their absence, Whitehall stepped up and took full advantage of the opportunity which presented itself in the 47th minute,after a shot by Shastri Spencer just inside the penalty box, was partially blocked by goalkeeper Kenson McLatchie.

Whitehall was quick to knock it in.

St Augustine’s first real attempt at goal came in the 27th minute off the right foot of Spencer, the topscorer in the East with 17 goals, but the ball hit the bar and was cleared by Akil Harley.

Captain Matthew Ramirez of St Augustine came close to scoring, but his powerful shot was tipped over the bar by goalkeeper McLatchie.

The champions’ goal was defended well by Jesse Martinez and Joel Williams.

They made the work easy for goalkeeper Nigel Parris, who was barely challenged throughout the match by San Juan, who had advanced to the final after beating Hillview College 5-2.

San Juan’s attack was led by Michael Brown, Elijah Manners and Terryl Elwin, but most of its attempts,were mainly from long range and over the bar or wide of the goal.

With time running out, San Juan got a chance to score when Aaron Ambrose was brought down just outside the left side of the goal in the 84th minute.

Michael Brown took the free kick and he got the ball inside to Ayinde George but his try was blocked by his own teammate.


ST AUGUSTINE 1 (Marlon Whitehall 47th) bt SAN JUAN 0