Sun, Jun

Anthony Charles (No 18) of AC Port of Spain holds off Rivaldo Coryat (No 13) from Defence Force to maintain possession during the T&T Premier League match at the Larry Gomes Stadium in Malabar, Arima, yesterday. AC Port of-Spain won 3-0. ...Daniel Prentice

AC Port-of-Spain (AC PoS) provided the first shock result of the inaugural T&T Premier Football League season when it blanked one of the pre-tournament favourites T&T Defence Force 3-0 at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar, Arima, on Saturday.

The trio of captain Duane Muckette from the penalty spot, Jaydon Prowell and Che Benny were all on target for AC PoS as it moved to the top of the 12-team table with three points, the same as Central FC, who blanked another regular title-contender W Connection 2-0 in the first match of a doubleheader at the Mahaica Sports Complex on Friday.

At Malabar, Defence Force started the brighter of both teams, with lanky national striker Brent Sam blasting a left-footed free-kick off the left post with goalkeeper Jadel Poon-Lewis beaten in the 17th minute.

However, after weathering the early storm, AC PoS took the lead against the run of the play when Muckette slotted home a penalty kick in the 37th minute.

This after referee Crystal Sobers blew for a foul by Defence Force goalkeeper Isaiah Williams after he raced off his line and clattered into AC PoS' Maurice Ford in an effort to clear a left-sided free kick from Benny.

A minute into the second half, Prowell doubled his team's lead to 2-0 when he ran onto a through ball down the left flank from Brian Armstrong and unleashed a thunderous left-footed effort past Williams on his near post.

At the other end of the field, Josiah Superville forced a parried save from Poon-Lewis low to his right from the edge of the 18-yard box in the 69th minute as the arm/coast-guard combination team tried to find a way back into the contest while four minutes later Sedale Mc Lean also threatened to extend AC PoS's lead when he forced a point blank save from Williams in the 73rd minute after being teed up by Prowell.

However, Benny will have the final say in the fourth minute of time added in the match as he ran onto a through ball down the right from substitute Haile Beckles and with the outside of his left foot, found the far post to seal his team's unlikely, but well-deserved win.

On Sunday, a double-header is carded for the Arima Municipal Stadium with Caledonia AIA meeting Cunupia FC in the early kick-off from 4 pm followed by San Juan Jabloteh and newcomers T&T Prisons FC, two hours later.


AC Port of Spain (4-2-3-1): 1.Jadel Poon-Lewis (GK); 2.Akido Weeks, 5.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 3.Maurice Ford, 17.Kareem Eastman; 18.Anthony Charles, 10.Duane Muckette (captain) (16.Liam Burns 90+2); 30.Brian Armstrong (23.Moses Jaikeran 66), 20.Che Benny, 7.Sedale McLean (27.Haile Beckles 86); 19.Jaydon Prowell (21.Jean-Heim McFee 86).

Unused substitutes: 13.Aaron Johnson, 31.Justin Dos Santos.

Coach: Walt Noriega

Defence Force (4-3–3): 1.Isaiah Williams (GK); 6.Rodell Elcock (captain), 5.Jerome McIntyre, 23.Jamali Garcia, 37.Cassim Kellar; 66.Kevon Goddard, 13.Rivaldo Coryat (17.Curtis Gonzales 76), 32.Jameel Cooper (9.Jamille Boatswain 76); 15.Shaquile Bertrand (21.Cordell Bailey 60), 8.Brent Sam, 99.Josiah Superville.

Unused substitutes: 31.Christopher Biggette (GK), 2.Josiah Warrick, 11.Dwight Quintero, 20.Jules Lee.

Coach: Lloyd Andrews

Referee: Crystal Sobers

Wired868 Man of the Match: Jaydon Prowell (AC Port of Spain).


Friday (March 10):

Central FC 2 (Akeem Roach 34th, Kerron Cummings 49th) vs W Connection 0.

Point Fortin Civic 1 (Ronell Paul 78th) vs Club Sando 1 (Josiah Cooper 13th).

Saturday (March 11):

AC Port-of-Spain 3 (Duane Muckette 17th pen, Jaydon Prowell 46th, Che Benny 90+4) vs Defence Force 0.

Today's matches:

Caledonia AIA vs Cunupia FC, 4 pm, Arima Municipal Stadium, Arima

San Juan Jabloteh vs T&T Prison FC, 6 pm, Arima Municipal Stadium, Arima


P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
AC Port of Spain  1  1  0  0  3  0  3
Central FC  1  1  0  0  2  0  3
Club Sando FC  1  0  1  0  1  1  1
Point Fortin Civic FC  1  0  1  0  1  1  1
Caledonia AIA  0  0  0  0  0  0  0
Cunupia FC  0  0  0  0  0  0  0
La Horquetta Rangers  0  0  0  0  0  0  0
Police FC  0  0  0  0  0  0  0
Prison Service FC  0  0  0  0  0  0  0
San Juan Jabloteh  FC  0  0  0  0  0  0  0
W Connection  FC  1  0  0  1  0  2  0
Defence Force FC  1  0  0  1  0  3  0

Top Scorers

Che Benny (AC Port-of-Spain) 1
Duane Muckette (AC Port-of-Spain) 1 (1-Pen)
Jaydon Prowell (AC Port-of-Spain) 1
Akeem Roach (Central FC) - 1 (Became the first goal scorer in the inaugural TTPFL).
Keron Cummings (Central FC) - 1 (1-Pen)
Josiah Cooper (Club Sando FC) - 1
Ronell Paul (Point Fortin Civic FC) - 1