Wed, Jun

Jones names 22-player squad to face Nicaragua.

Members of the Trinidad and Tobago’s Women’s Senior Team selected for the upcoming CONCACAF Women’s World Cup qualifying match against Nicaragua have began assembling for their residential camp at the TTFA Home of Football in Couva.

The first set of players selected by head coach Kenwyne Jones checked into the facility on Friday with some of the overseas-based players completing arrivals early in the week ahead.

“We’re very excited for the start of the World Cup qualifiers for 2023. Everyone is looking forward to settling into the camp and getting the best possible preparation over the next few days ahead of Thursday’s match,” Jones said.

“I am definitely looking forward to working with this group of players and seeing how we can go about achieving what we set out to.”

US-based defender Lauryn Hutchinson, who arrives in camp on Saturday night, also expressed her anticipation of preparations ahead of Thursday’s encounter which kicks off at 3:00pm at the Hasely Crawford Stadium

“I’m extremely excited to start our World Cup campaign. This will be the third time representing the beautiful Trinidad and Tobago in a Women’s World Cup campaign and I couldn’t be more up for it than now,” Hutchinson said on Saturday.

“I think it’s important that we lean on each other in terms of coming together as one. I couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity to represent my country, my team and all the women out here. This means so much to us and we are also very excited to be returning to the Hasely Crawford Stadium to begin our campaign.

“I know all of my teammates are also looking forward to putting in the work and following the directions of coach Kenwyne and the rest of the staff in order to get the best possible start which is a victory on Thursday,” she added.

The Nicaragua team is scheduled to arrive here on Tuesday.

Teams have been drawn into six groups of five, and will play two home and two away matches in a single round robin format Should more than thirty CONCACAF member associations have entered, a play-in round will be held prior to the qualifying group stage. However, as 30 teams entered qualifying, this was not necessary. The six group winners will advance to the final tournament.

The 2022 CONCACAF W Championship will be the 11th edition of the CONCACAF W Championship, the quadrennial international women’s football championship contested by the senior women’s national teams of the member associations of CONCACAF, the regional governing body of North America, Central America, and the Caribbean. Eight teams will play in the tournament, which is scheduled to take place from 4 to 20 July 2022 in Mexico.

The tournament will serve as the CONCACAF qualifiers to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, as well as for the football tournament at the 2024 Summer Olympics in France. The top two teams of each group will qualify for the World Cup, while the third-placed teams from each group will advance to the inter-confederation play-offs.In addition, the winners will qualify for the Olympics and the 2024 CONCACAF W Gold Cup, while the second and third-placed teams will advance to the CONCACAF Olympic play-off.

The United States are the two-time defending champions, having won the 2014 and 2018 tournaments.

(Trinidad and Tobago team)


1.Kimika Forbes (Police FC), 21.Tenesha Palmer (Police FC), 22.K’lil Keshwar (St Francis College—USA);


2.Abishai Guy (Point Fortin), 4.Rhea Belgrave (Police FC), 5.Shaunalee Govia, 20.Lauryn Hutchinson (both unattached), 8.Victoria Swift (Club Leon—Mexico), 19.Meyah Romeo (Detroit City—USA);


3.Shani Nakhid-Schuster, 7.Liana Hinds (both unattached), 14.Karyn Forbes (Police FC), 6.Kaydeen Jack (Grambling State University—USA), 9.Amaya Ellis (Johns Hopkins University—USA), 10.Asha James (West Texas A&M University—USA), 12.Chelcy Ralph (Ball State University—USA), 15.Kedie Johnson (Florida International University—USA), 18.Maria-Frances Serrant (Corban University—USA),


11.Raenah Campbell (Avantes Chalkida WFC—USA), 13.Dennecia Prince (Point Fortin), 16.Cayla McFarlane (Harvard University—USA), 17.Maya Matouk (Police FC).