Sat, Jul

Former T&T football captain Maylee Attin-Johnson (L) and former Costa Rican player Wendy Acosta (2nd R) attend the Concacaf Women’s Gold Cup draw, on Thursday, in Miami, Fl. - Concacaf

THE national women’s senior football team have been drawn with Mexico and Puerto Rico in Group A of League A in the qualifiers for the inaugural Concacaf Women’s Gold Cup in 2024.

The draw was held on Wednesday in Miami, Florida. Former national women’s player Maylee Attin-Johnson attended the draw on behalf of T&T.

After home and away group stage play, within each league, in the FIFA women’s international match windows of September, October, and November 2023, the top finishers in each of the League A groups (three teams) will qualify for the 2024 Concacaf Women’s Gold Cup group stage.

The second-place finishers in each of the League A groups (three teams) and the first-place finishers in each of the League B groups (three teams) will advance to the 2024 Concacaf Women’s Gold Cup preliminary phase.

Concacaf will announce the 2023 Road to the Women’s Gold Cup schedule at a later date.

The 2024 Concacaf Women’s Gold Cup will be held from February 20 to March 10 in the US.


T&T women to play Mexico, Puerto Rico.
T&T Express Reports.

Trinidad and Tobago’s “Women Warriors” footballers will play Mexico and Puerto Rico in qualifiers for the CONCACAF W Gold Cup, a competition for women’s national teams from the Caribbean, North and Central America which takes place from February 20 to March 10, 2024.

The road to the first-ever CONCACAF W Gold Cup will begin this September, after the conclusion of the FIFA Women’s World Cup - which takes place this summer in Australia and New Zealand, and will include a record six competing CONCACAF women’s national teams.

Thirty-five teams have been split into three leagues according to the CONCACAF women’s rankings as of March 2023, and sub-divided into groups. Excluded from the Gold Cup qualifying process are the two national teams which compete in the 2024 Paris Summer Olympic Games women’s football tournament - USA and either Canada or Jamaica.

ONCACAF W Gold Cup qualifiers will take place in the FIFA Women’s match windows of September, October and November 2023. The teams in each group will play against each other home-and-away in a round-robin format.

The top three teams in League A will qualify directly for the Women's Gold Cup. The three group runners-up of League A, and the League B group winners, will participate in a play-in in April 2024, to compete for the final three spots at the W Gold Cup.


League A (nine top-ranked teams divided into three groups of three)

Group A: Mexico, Trinidad and Tobago, and Puerto Rico.

Group B: Canada or Jamaica, Panama, and Guatemala.

Group C: Costa Rica, Haiti, and St Kitts and Nevis.

League B (next 12 best-ranked teams divided into three groups of four teams)

Group A: Guyana, Antigua and Barbuda, Suriname, and Dominica.

Group B: El Salvador, Nicaragua, Honduras, and Martinique.

Group C: Dominican Republic, Bermuda, St Vincent and the Grenadines, and Barbados.

League C (14 remaining teams divided into two groups of four teams and two groups of three teams)

Group A: Belize, Aruba, Turks and Caicos Islands, and Bonaire.

Group B: Cuba, St Lucia, Guadeloupe, and St Maarten.

Group C: US Virgin Islands, Grenada, and Bahamas.

Group D: Curacao, Cayman Islands, and Anguilla.