Tue, Jun


The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football this week announced that the Dominican Republic will host the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship. The final two stages of the competition (group stage and knockout round) will take place between February 15 – March 1, 2020.

Trinidad and Tobago will face Panama, Cayman Islands and Haiti in their opening group. The T&T U-20 Men also drew Haiti and Panama in its qualifying group.

“We are very excited to host the final rounds of the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship in the Dominican Republic for the first time. This will be the 10th edition of this competition and it always provides a great platform for the best young players in our region. It will also be a significant part of our efforts to celebrate and further enhance women’s football in 2020, with 1,400 women and girls playing elite Concacaf football across the year.” said Concacaf General Secretary Philippe Moggio.

“It is an honor for the Dominican Republic to have been selected as the host for the 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship. There is a growing passion for football in our country and we hope to have an amazing event for the best young female players in our region.” said the President of the FEDOFUTBOL Normalization Committee Manuel Luna.

The Estadio Felix Sanchez and Estadio Panamericano, in Santo Domingo and San Cristobal, respectively, will both host group stage, round of 16 and quarterfinal matches. The decisive semifinals, third place match and final will all be played at the Felix Sanchez stadium.

The Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship kicked off with an initial group stage round between 10 nations. The participating teams were divided into two groups of five teams. After round robin play, Guyana, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis and Grenada qualified for the knockout stage. The first round of the competition took place in Saint Kitts and Nevis and Guyana, between July 13-21, 2019.

The second round of the competition will also be played in a group format, between the top ranked 16 teams according to the Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Ranking as of August 2018. The 16 participating teams were divided in four groups of four teams and will play as follows (listed in the order drawn):

Group C: United States, Honduras, Dominican Republic and Cuba
Group D: Mexico, Costa Rica, Nicaragua and Puerto Rico
Group E: Canada, Jamaica, Guatemala and El Salvador
Group F: Haiti, Trinidad and Tobago, Panama and Cayman Islands

After round-robin play, the top three teams in each of the groups will advance to the knockout stage, joining the four round one top finishers. The third and final round will begin with the round of 16. The eight Round of 16 match pairing are as follows:

Match #25: 1C vs Saint Lucia
Match #26: 1E vs Guyana
Match #27: 2C vs 3E
Match #28: 2E vs 3C
Match #29: 1D vs Grenada
Match #30: 1F vs Saint Kitts and Nevis
Match #31: 2D vs 3F
Match #32: 2F vs 3D

All knockout round matches (round of 16, quarterfinal, semifinal and final) will be played in a single match elimination format, with the finalist and the third-place match winner qualifying to the FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup 2020.

In the previous edition of the Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship, played in Trinidad and Tobago in 2018, Mexico won its first championship at this level, with a 4-2 win in penalties over the United States in the final.

The 2020 Concacaf Women’s Under-20 Championship will be part of what is set to be a year of Women’s Football at Concacaf.  In total, more than 1,400 girls and women from the entire region will have access to top level football tournaments, including the Women’s Olympic Qualifiers, Girls’ Under-15 Championship and Women’s Under-17 Championship.


Dates: February 15 – March 1, 2020

Venues: Estadio Felix Sanchez, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic and Estadio Panamericano, San Cristobal, Dominican Republic.

Participating Countries (listed in alphabetical order): Canada, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Trinidad and Tobago and the United States.

Competition Schedule

Saturday, February 15, 2020
01: United States vs Cuba
02: Honduras vs Dominican Republic
03: Jamaica vs Guatemala
04: Canada vs El Salvador

Sunday, February 16, 2020
05: Mexico vs Puerto Rico
06: Costa Rica vs Nicaragua
07: Trinidad & Tobago vs Panama
08: Haiti vs Cayman Islands

Monday, February 17, 2020
09: Dominican Republic vs United States
10: Cuba vs Honduras
11: El Salvador vs Jamaica
12: Guatemala vs Canada

Tuesday, February 18, 2020
13: Puerto Rico vs Costa Rica
14: Nicaragua vs Mexico
15: Cayman Islands vs Trinidad & Tobago
16: Panama vs Haiti

Wednesday, February 19, 2020
17: Dominican Republic vs Cuba
18: United States vs Honduras
19: Guatemala vs El Salvador
20: Canada vs Jamaica

Thursday, February 20, 2020
21: Nicaragua vs Puerto Rico
22: Mexico vs Costa Rica
23: Panama vs Cayman Islands
24: Haiti vs Trinidad & Tobago

Saturday, February 22, 2020 – Round of 16
25: 1C vs Saint Lucia
26: 1E vs Guyana
27: 2C vs 3E
28: 2E vs 3C

Sunday, February 23, 2020 – Round of 16
1D vs Grenada
1F vs Saint Kitts and Nevis
2D vs 3F
2F vs 3D

Tuesday, February 25, 2020 – Quarterfinals
33: W25 vs W28
34: W26 vs W27
35: W29 vs W32
36: W30 vs W31

Thursday, February 27, 2020 – Semifinals
37: W33 vs W34
38: W35 vs W36

Sunday, March 1, 2020 – 3rd Place Match and Final
39: L37 vs L38
40: W37 vs W38