Wed, Aug

John-Williams ready for TTFA election.

David John-Williams will be set for bat­tle, with three new vice pres­i­dents from the ones who sup­port­ed him back in 2015, when the T&T Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion AGM and Elec­tion of of­fi­cers are held on No­vem­ber 24.

Con­tact­ed on Tues­day John-Williams, the in­cum­bent pres­i­dent said he was still un­de­cid­ed whether he would face re-elec­tion and had un­til mid­night Tues­day to make his de­ci­sion.

How­ev­er, Guardian Me­dia Sports was re­li­ably in­formed that the con­tro­ver­sial for­mer W Con­nec­tion Chief Ex­ec­u­tive Of­fi­cer (CEO) will be bid­ding for an­oth­er four-year term in of­fice, with his nom­i­nat­ed vice pres­i­dents Col­in Par­tap, the Cen­tral Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (CFA) Rep­re­sen­ta­tive on the T&TFA Board, Sel­by Browne- who is the rep­re­sen­ta­tive for the Vet­er­an Foot­ball Foun­da­tion (VFF) and An­tho­ny Moore, the pres­i­dent of the To­ba­go Foot­ball As­so­ci­a­tion (TFA).

His team af­ter dis­cus­sion and agree­ment de­cid­ed to re­place Ew­ing Davis, Joanne Salazar and Al­lan Warn­er, all of whom won hand­some­ly at the last elec­tions at the VIP Lounge of the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um, Mu­cu­rapo.

Since then, both Warn­er and Salazar re­signed their po­si­tions and John-Williams has sur­vived many calls from stake­hold­ers and the gen­er­al foot­ball fra­ter­ni­ty to step down be­cause of the state of the sport fi­nan­cial­ly and oth­er­wise.

John-Williams' slate will be con­test­ed by the Unit­ed T&T FA be­ing led by Williams Wal­lace, who is al­so pres­i­dent of the Sec­ondary Schools Foot­ball League (SS­FL), Clynt Tay­lor, Sam Phillips and Su­san Joseph-War­rick.

Mean­while busi­ness­man Shymdeo Go­sine, who was open­ly sup­port­ive of the Unit­ed T&TFA group when it was launched three months ago, is now throw­ing his sup­port be­hind a new team be­ing head­ed by Richard Fer­gu­son, the Ter­minix La Hor­quet­ta Rangers Di­rec­tor who has been be­hind As­cen­sion's fund­ing of the Pre-sea­son In­vi­ta­tion­al Foot­ball Tour­na­ment, and the Ter­minix Su­per League.

That slate com­pris­es Ray­mond Thom of Po­lice FC, Ed­die Dean (Club San­do) and Go­sine