Thu, Feb


Palo Seco Trippy Football Club (FC) had three different players hitting the target in its lopsided 3-0 victory over Point Ligoure United in the Deportivo Point Fortin (PF) Community Football League (CFL) on Tuesday night at La Brea grounds.

Kyron Williams, Jeremy Carter and Tyrese Reefer each scored a goal to help Palo Seco Trippy win and move to top of Group Diamonds standings with seven points from two wins and a draw. The win also means that it has cemented it spot in next week’s quarterfinals. Nathaniel Garcia of Palo Seco Trippy was named the “Man of the Match” (MOTM).

Unfortunately for Point Ligoure, the loss means that it remains at the bottom of the three-team table with one point eliminating any chance of moving on in the southern 12-team competition.

Sporting Club Fyzabad, with one match outstanding, will be the other team progressing from the group with five points from three matches (a win and two draws). Fyzabad will meet Palo Seco Trippy tomorrow in their final preliminary round match at a venue to be announced.

In the other match earlier Tuesday, Egypt United earned its first point of the competition holding Erin Boarder Players to a 2-2 draw. However, it was not enough to lift Egypt from the bottom of Group Hearts in its final league match.

Dval Moore scored a double for Egypt while Border Players’ two goals came from eventual MOTM award recipient, Gesiah Bishop.

The Erin team will advance to the quarterfinals as the second-best team in the group, regardless of the result in the final match of the regular season also on Friday against unbeaten Guapo Uprising Youths.

On Monday, teams in Group Clubs and Spades were in action.

New Village FC topped the previously undefeated Lakeview United, 2-0, to head Group Spades going into the quarterfinals. Goals came from Kemuel Farrell and Terrell Abraham in a match where their teammate Jules Lee was named the top player of the affair.

Despite the loss, Lakeview will also move on to the next round with seven points from two wins and a draw.

In the second match, the leader of Group Clubs La Brea All Stars were held to a 1-1 draw by Cedros Pirates, who had Kyle Vialva emerging as the top player of the match.

Rehad Moodie was on target for the Pirates while league leading scorer Shaquille John with six goals in three matches, netted the lone item for the group’s leader La Brea. Both teams will progress to the quartefinals after the final round of matches on Saturday, also at a venue to be announced.


Tuesday (La Brea grounds)

• ↓Erin Boarder Players 2 (Gesiah Bishop 2) vs Egypt United 2 (Dval Moore 2). MOTM- Gesiah Bishop (Erin Boarder)

• ↓Palo Seco Trippy FC 3 (Kyron Williams, Jeremy Carter, Tyrese Reefer) vs Point Ligoure United 0. MOTM - Nathaniel Garcia (Palo Seco Trippy)

Monday (La Brea grounds)

• ↓New Village FC 2 (Kemuel Farrell, Terrell Abraham) vs Lakeview United 0. MOTM - Jules Lee (New Village)

• ↓Cedros Pirates 1 (Rehad Moodie) vs La Brea All Stars 1 (Shaquille John). MOTM - Kyle Vialva (Cedros Pirates)

Saturday (Fullerton grounds)

• ↓Point Ligoure United 1 (Jamille Boatswain) vs Sporting Club Fyzabad 1 (Dantye Gilbert). MOTM - Brent Plenty (Point Ligoure)

• ↓Cedros Pirates 3 (Rehad Moodie 2, Kyle Moodie) vs Fanny Village United 1 (Reasean Paul). MOTM - Rehad Moodie (Cedros)

Friday (Bonasse Grounds)

• ↓Guapo Uprising 7 (Rondel Phillip 2, Christon Figaro 2, Akeel Vesprey, Daniel Diaz, Justin Cornwall) vs Egypt United 0. MOTM - C Fifgaro (Guapo)

• ↓Lakeview United 1 (Chris Collins) vs Mahaica FC 0. MOTM - C Collins (Lakeview)



• ↓Palo Seco Trippy FC vs Sporting Club Fyzabad, 6 pm

• ↓Erin Border Players vs Guapo Uprising Youths, 8 pm


• ↓La Brea All Stars vs Fanny Village United, 6 pm

• ↓New Village FC vs Mahaica FC, 8 pm