Sun, May


Two-time defending champions Juventus FC continued their quest for a third straight title when it played unbeaten in the group phase of the 4th annual SW Touring Limited Tobago Invitational Masters Tournament at Canaan/Bon Accord Recreational Grounds yesterday.

 Juventus beat Tobago All Stars 4-1 with former national striker Arnold Dwarika scoring the opening goal. Jerod Mason, Alvin Voisin and Jason Julien also found the back of the net for Juventus. 

Frankie Skeete netted for the Tobago All Stars outfit which included THA Assistant Secretary for Education, Youth Affairs and Sport Jomo Pitt. With the win Juventus finished in the top spot in Group A after beating Georgetown FC of Guyana 8-0 earlier in the day.

Dwarika and Julien led the way with double strikes. Kendel Velox, Herman Charles, Keston King and Irvin Thomas contributed to Juventus’ tally.

With their two wins Juventus tops Group and will face the the runner Group B in the first quarterfinal tomorrow (Sunday October 12) of the tournament which will be shifted to the Black Rock Recreational Grounds (above the Katzenjammers Pan Theatre). The semifinal and finals will also be contested later on Sunday.

T&T Defence Force also recorded two victories beating Bethel United 2-0 as Robert Thomas and Sheldon Baird registering goals. Defence Force recorded a similar 2-0 win over Georgetown 2-0, Thomas and Steve Mayers the scorers.

Defence Force finished first in Group C and booked a spot in the quarters where they will face the second place team in Group D. Bethel recovered to advance to the quarterfinals as the runner up in Group C. The Tobago side edged Barbados Lime 4-3 on penalties as the two battled to 0-0 draw. 

However, with both team losing their opening matches by the same 2-0 score line penalties were needed to separate the sides and Bethel prevailed. The semifinal and finals will also be contested today. Teams will be vying for over US $4,000 in prizes with the winning team taking home US$2000.

This year TT$1000 and a trophy will be awarded for the team with the “Best Limers”. This year’s tournament is sponsored  by the THA’s Divisions of Tourism and Transportation and Education, Youth Affairs and Sports, National Lottery Control Board (NLCB).

*-seeded team

Group A 
*Juventus (A1)
GFC Masters (A2)
Tobago Masters (A3)

Group B 
*Pheonix (B1)
WASA (B 2)
Have-A—Time (B 3)
Breakaway International (B 4)

Group C
*Defence Force (C 1)
Barbados lime Masters (C 2)
Bethel United (C3)

Group D
*Northside Stars (D 1)
Toyota (D 2)
Point Fortin CC Masters (D 3)

Today’s Day Two Schedule
(Venue Black Recreational Grounds)


9:00am-Winner Group A vs Runner up Group B
10:00am-Winner of Group B vs Runner up Group A
11:00am-Winner of Group C vs Runner up Group D
Noon-Winner of Group D vs Runner of Group C

1:00pm-Semifinal 1
2:00pm-Semfinal 2