Tue, Jun

Karyn Forbes (#14), Lauryn Hutchinson (#20), and Victoria Swift (#8) applaud the fans after Trinidad and Tobago Women's 2-1 win over Nicaragua on February 17th 2022 ash the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago

KENWYNE JONES, coach of the Trinidad and Tobago women’s football team, has named a squad of 23 for a pair of Group F Concacaf Women’s World Cup qualifiers (also called Concacaf W Championship) – away to Turks and Caicos on April 9 and at home to Guyana at the Dwight Yorke Stadium, Bacolet on April 12.

In their previous Group F qualifiers, T&T defeated Nicaragua 2-1 on February 17 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo and followed up with a 2-0 triumph over Dominica at the National Track and Field Facility, Leonora, Guyana.

From the roster of 23 which Jones named for the February matches, Chelsi Jadoo, Alliyah Trim and Shadi Stoute have been called up, at the expense of fellow defenders Abishai Guy and Meyah Romeo; while midfielder Sarah De Gannes replaced Kaydeen Jack.

T&T are currently second in Group F with six points on a plus-3 goal difference behind Guyana on six points on a plus-11 goal difference. Guyana host Nicaragua on April 8. A total of six teams in the qualifying competition will advance to the final tournament, joining Canada and the United States, who received byes as the top ranked teams.

The 2022 Concacaf W Championship serves as the Concacaf qualifiers to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, as well as for the football tournament at the 2024 Summer Olympics in France.

The two third-place teams will advance to a FIFA Intercontinental Playoff.

The semifinals, final and third-place match of the Concacaf W Championship will be played in a single elimination format, with the winners of the tournament qualifying for both the 2024 Paris Olympics and the inaugural Concacaf W Gold Cup, to be held in 2024.

The Concacaf W Championship runners-up and third-place team will also square off in a Concacaf Olympic play-in series, scheduled for September 2023. The winners of the play-in will also qualify for 2024 Paris Olympics and the 2024 Concacaf W Gold Cup.

Team –

GOALKEEPERS: Kimika Forbes (Unattached), Tenesha Palmer (Police FC), K'lil Keshwar (St. Francis College—USA).

DEFENDERS: Rhea Belgrave (Police FC), Liana Hinds (Hibernian-Scotland), Victoria Swift (Club León-Mexico), Chelsi Jadoo (Valadares Gaia FC—Portugal), Shaunalee Govia (Unattached), Shadi Cecily Stoute (University of Georgia—USA), Lauryn Hutchinson (Unattached), Aaliyah Trim (FC Ginga).

MIDFIELDERS: Shani Nakhid-Schuster (Unattached), Amaya Ellis (Johns Hopkins University—USA), Asha James (West Texas A&M University—USA), Chelcy Ralph, Karyn Forbes (Police FC), Kedie Johnson (Florida International University-USA), Sarah De Gannes (Brewton-Parker College—USA).

STRIKERS: Maya Matouk (Police FC), Maria-Frances Serrant (Corban University—USA), Raenah Campbell (Avantes Chadlkida FC—Greece), Dennecia Prince (Point Fortin), Cayla McFarlane (Harvard University—USA)

SOURCE: T&T Newsday